Surface forums app

Discussion in 'New Member Introduction & Site Assistance' started by wditters, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. wditters

    wditters Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Surfaceforums.net app

    Hi all. I could not help but noticing that some users have "posted from Surfaceforums.net app" in their posts ... am I missing something? Is there a W8 app?
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2014
  2. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Yes, I am typing this on my Surface Pro ( original) Touch Keyboard using the Surface Forums app.

    It seems to work pretty well.


    Sent from the SurfaceForums.net app for Windows 8
     
  3. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Sent from the SurfaceForums.net app for Windows 8
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    It was pulled from the Store months ago...
     
  5. wditters

    wditters Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Is there still any way to get it? For instance by having someone else's app folder zipped and copied?
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    It would need to be the Developer Package that has a PowerShell Installer (as well as a Developer License for Side Loading).
     
  7. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I don't get it.... why would you want/need it? I post on here from IE11 just fine, why the extra step in using an app?
     
  8. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Well, if you were running a lot of programs at the same time, an app might not take as much memory / cpu cycles as IE 11.

    I'm wondering why they pulled it ... it seems to work just fine.
     
  9. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    The App was created by a forum member who isn't active anymore, usually Apps are pulled by developer because they no longer want to support them or pulled by Microsoft for Copyright infringement or TOS violation.
     

Share This Page