Solved Task Manager says uptime is 13 days even after restart

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Exhile, Jul 5, 2017.

  1. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Task Manager says uptime is 13 days even after restart on my SP4. Usually the Task Manager resets to 0:00:00 after a reboot but it doesn't. What is going on?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Okay, I left my SP4 off overnight and during the day to see if the up time counter would stop but it doesn't. The up time counter continues even when the SP4 is shut off! The up time on my SP4 is now 15 days. I also checked another Windows 10 computer and its up time is also close to 13 days.

    If there was an update by Microsoft in the past 2 weeks it sure is working but I'd like my up time counter in Task Manager to revert to 0:00:00. Is anyone else experiencing this on their SP4?
     
  3. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    So there was an update that had fixed the counter for the up time. As it turns out, the update didn't fix the up time counter because when I left the SP4 turned off for a day and turned on the SP4, the counter read 4:10:13:56.

    Capture.JPG
     
  4. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Woohoo, it's fixed!
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,899
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Glad we could help :D
     
    Cuchulainn likes this.
  6. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Nope, the up time clock is not fixed. :(
     
  7. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,899
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You might be encountering a gravitational wave field distorting the space time continuum. :D

    Sorry, that's all I've got.
     
  8. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That's okay. Interestingly Star Trek TNG's P.A.D.D. is what we are using today.

    It seems only new updates reset the up time clock. Maybe this continuous clock in Task Manager is intentional?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

task manager says my compters uptime is 1 day even though i just turned it on