USB on 46'' TV

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by MickeyLittle, Jan 16, 2014.

  1. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My TV doesn't have any open HDMI ports and trying to do the splitter/remote is kind of a pain. But I noticed that my TV does have an open USB port right next to the 4 full HDMI ports. So my question is can I run my video out cord from my SP 2 to some adapter and then into the USB on the TV and will that work the same like hooking it into one of the HDMI ports?
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    The TV would need a DisplayLink USB Video Card (or similar) in it to work like that, some TVs have VGA so you can pickup a Mini-DP to VGA Adapter and use that but you would also need an AUX Cable for sound.
     
  3. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks, that will save me the effort and money for the USB efforts and now I'll just look to see about the VGA option. For what I'm doing sound isn't important that often and when it is I could just unplug one of the HDMIs.
     
  4. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    normally the USB is only for firmware upgrade and/or picture viewing, that's it... your better off just unplugging one of the hdmi ports to use for the Surface.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yeah, I'm going to check on the VGA port though because I already have a 25 foot VGA cable and most of what I need it for requires no sound. I just get in "lots" of trouble whenever I unplug any of the critical HDMI ports for my Surface and then forget to plug the critical plug back in for the Wife! That's why I'm really looking for different options cause I am forgetful!
     
  6. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
  7. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Well no, it's not even the same connector as you can clearly see! And mac is proprietary
     
  8. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3

    Ok so I know I need a mini display port to VGA adapter now I just gotta find one on Amazon that will work.
     
  9. dutchiedave

    dutchiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I will have bought a mini display port to hdmi and also a mini display port to dvi cable and both have worked perfectly on my surface pro 2.

    The mini display port is not proprietary to Macs.

    By the look of it the cable you gave a link to looks fine for a surface pro 2, but I can't guarantee it will work :)
     
  10. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    No I'm saying all mac hardware is proprietary, you cannot use them on other devices.... and that is what the OP posted the link too... IT WILL NOT WORK.

    Its not rocket science, just go to ebay and search "Microsoft Surface VGA adapter" that's it that's all... simple and you'll find a whole bunch
     
  11. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks, I just bought one from ebay for $9.99. I didn't want to pay $39.99 to Best Buy or the Microsoft Store!
     
  12. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Perfect, congrats OP. :big smile:
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

usb from surface to tv

,

usb surface to a usb tv

,

usb tv for surface pro

,

will a surface usb work with a usb on a tv

,

windows surface to tv usb