What's new

3D Modelling on the SP3

Hi everyone,

I am a freelance 3D artist and am looking at getting a surface pro 3 i5 256gb 8gb RAM to use as a secondary development machine.
I was hoping that some of you could shed some light on some similar experiences you may have had.
I've worked in the industry for over 10 years and from previous experience I think the processor and RAM will be adequate as a development machine but I'm a little concerned about the graphics chip.
Has anyone used their SP3 as a 3D modelling machine? What kind of polycount is possible on the SP3? Have you had any issues with frame rate? Have you used the SP3 for animation ?
Any feedback would be great.
Thanks

Matt

kundas1

I have seen a video of MS engineers using the SP3 to render all their 3D modelings and designs of the Sp3.. and it looked like it handle it very good and smoothly..

Gary.M

I am by no means a professional artist, but I dabble with Zbrush on my i5 4gb and find it can easily handle upwards of 8 million polys. It starts to chug at around 10-11 million for me. With double the memory of mine you should have no problem. Just beware of the fan going supersonic o_O

OP
M

Matthew Laverick

I'm not too concerned about rendering from 3ds max as most of this is dobe on the CPU. Nice to know about ZBrush though. That should be more than sufficient. How do you find the touch screen for sculpting? How does it compare to a graphics tablet ?

Gary.M