What's new

Hi - New UK Pro User

OP
T

T3Jn

Firstly - welcome, you're going to love the Pro!

One question about your original post - you said that you went back to Win7 because Win8 was no good on a multiscreen Desktop - I'll been running win8 Pro for the last 3-4 Months using twin Dell 24" Monitors and it's superb. What was it that you didn't like about the multimonitor handling?

It really depends on what you are doing and how you use the system. I am a software developer, I have a 30", 2 x 24" dell displays and a Precision 6700m all running. On 2 screens I will have multiple instances of Visual Studio, each instance also supports multi screen. On another I will have SQL Server and on the final the application being developed and communication (email, skype, lync, etc), plus a few browsers for research, code examples, etc.

People talk about multi tasking, but that's switching between applications or using a couple at a time. Developers really do multi task applications and have to jump in and out of many other utilities and run additional instances of software. The start menu allows you to Win + R and start typing what you want, now I know the new start screen works the same, but the second you get the full screen start menu your concentration is completely thrown, you lose all your code, etc. The old start menu is unobtrusive.

Then on top of this you'll suddenly be thrown into an metro app to view something like a PDF, an image, lync or skype (even mail/calendar if you are using the built in programs) and you've lost a screen (rather than having a little floating window). You can install the Desktop version of these applications to avoid this, but that just adds to the "whats the point of having the metro".

Additionally using the mouse to get perfectly into the corners of the screen is a nightmare on multi screen setup where resolutions/screen size/orientation are not the same.