What's new

My Day with Surface at the American Psychological Association

Feoen

Greetings from the APA, and Washington DC! I'm sitting down a corridor on the second floor, waiting for an ceremony that will happen to have food... ;)

I am a doctoral student in clinical psychology, and one of my goals when making the decision to purchase the SP3 was to better integrate technology in my work with patients. Whether it be through signing consent documents electronically (but with pen!), accessing my electronic patient database on-the-go, or just needing my library of scholarly articles at-a-click, the SP3 has been performing brilliantly. While I have owned my SP3 since release, and I have used it in multiple contexts, today is the first day I've really went "on the road" with it.

Today I went to five symposia, one training workshop, and one small-group meeting. I inked my notes into OneNote throughout each. One of the biggest aspects of technology that I value is how well the technology "gets out of the way" and lets me do my work. As someone completely foreign to inking until today, I must say that the SP3 excelled beyond my wildest expectations. It was like writing on paper for which the supply will never run out. I just took out the tablet, pressed the top of the pen, and started writing.

I had a number of other professionals ask about my tablet, as they've never seen anything quite like it. To avoid derailing the topic, I won't focus too much on the number of people who said "My iPad can't do that!", but I am fairly sure that I generated a few more sales for the SP3 to people who were unaware of its existence.

I will be providing a poster presentation tomorrow, and I plan to utilize my SP3 similarly such that I can note questions, criticisms, and concerns about my research that other attendees may propose.