What's new

SP3 as main developer pc

Mats

Hi,

As my current work laptop is starting to get a bit tired, I'm thinking about going for the SP3 to replace it.
Currently have a SP1 and I'm very pleased with it, perfect for taking notes in meetings and annotating design proposals from designers and so on, but what I'm hoping with the SP3 is that I don't need to bring several devices around, when I go to a meeting I can just grab it out of the docking and have the tablet experience. When I sit at the desk have a "desktop" experience with the docking and external monitors.

Will most like be going for the i7 256gb + docking, so I was wondering if anyone can share some experiences running development setups on the SP3. Since I'm a consultant I work on different types of project, so I would want to run Visual Studio, Intellij and similar tools, maybe have several instances of them open at once, MSSQL Server (probably the most heavy I would run locally) or other database instances, and of course browser(s), documents open etc.
Does the throttling become a factor with this kind of setup or is it most likely not an issue because the tools are not very GPU heavy, might be some CPU heavy builds etc, but they seldom too long.

Any feedback would be appreciated!

ctitanic

Welcome aboard.
Even the i5 version will be enough for what You want. The performance of MSSQL will depend on the amount of records but still not a problem. Just avoid multitasking too much.

I am doing a lot with MSSQL and other things you want to use. I have i5, 8 GB RAM of SP3 and i am happy with it. I hadn't any problems with MSSQL either. I even have sold my asus zenbook with a core i7 and two ssds in raid 0. SP3 does even the same good job. Really happy with SP3 and hope you will be too.

ctitanic