What's new

Surface Pro (2017) as desktop replacement?

wpcoe

I've been (im)patiently waiting for the new Surface Pro to be released in Thailand on 15-August. I've had my eye on the i5/8GB/256GB model.

However, reading through the messages in this forum section I saw a photo of a nice setup with the SP being used in a dual-monitor situation and my interest was piqued.

My current desktop is an i3-6320 (2C/4T 3.9Ghz) with 16GB RAM and a 256GB SSD. (No discrete video card, just IGP.) I'm retired now, but when I traveled for a living I always carried a notebook computer mirrored with my desktop's data files that I synched before and after each trip. I've carried that tradition up until now. It would be nice to have one computer to just pick up and go.

How would the new Surface Pro compare to my i3-6320 system performance wise? No gaming -- mainly office apps, browsing, watching occasional videos and a little Photoshop editing of photos.

Would the Kaby Lake i5/8GB Surface Pro be a step down, performance-wise, from a Skylake i3/16GB desktop?

If so, what about the i7? Do the extra 500Mhz and the 64MB eDRAM make a noticeable difference?

Unfortunately, over here there is no risk-free option to return merchandise unless there is a defect, and even then a replacement is given, not a refund.

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
I've been (im)patiently waiting for the new Surface Pro to be released in Thailand on 15-August. I've had my eye on the i5/8GB/256GB model.

However, reading through the messages in this forum section I saw a photo of a nice setup with the SP being used in a dual-monitor situation and my interest was piqued.