What's new

What's a normal brand new Battery Test Report?

sbc5ha9iro

Hi All,

I tried searching but didn't find exactly what I was looking for. So I had to return my surface pro 4 that I bought on Feb. 6th yesterday(Feb. 21st) and exchange it for a new unit. Original unit was from lot 1547 and the exchange unit was lot 1602. I took it home to see if the issues from before(light bleed, fan during charging, terrible battery) would be gone or still there. When I opened the box I noticed that the seal looked like it had been reapplied and there was dust and other particles on the screen. Right away when I turned it on and opened task manager, the disk was at 98%. I'm an artist and not really computer savvy but that still didn't seem right. For some reason this unit seemed like it might have actually been opened before so I decided to run a battery health report.

There were no noted charge cycles. I will post the report later when I'm off work but what seemed off was that the battery had activity sometime in January(34 seconds) and again in early feb(over a minute). Like I mentioned before, the unit was first powered on by me on the 21st.

So what I want to know is that if this is normal? Does Microsoft power on the unit multiple times before boxing and shipping? Sorry if this is in the wrong area. Thanks everyone!

Empyre

This response is purely opinion based because I have absolutely no idea what they actually do but I would imagine that the unit is charged multiple times and booted before being packaged and shipped especially for installing the OS and also for quality control? Again, I have no idea what goes into making and shipping these things but you must power on the unit for quality control I would imagine and they have to power on the device to get the OS on there at least I would think so. Anyone else can maybe give you a definite answer there.

Also, do you mean disk activity? I thought that's what the task manager monitors.

OP
S

sbc5ha9iro