Can I Remote Desktop through VNC?

Discussion in 'New Member Introduction & Site Assistance' started by Arctherus, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. Arctherus

    Arctherus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am about to buy a surface RT today, but what the deal breaker is is if I can control my home computer via VNC on my soon-to-be surface RT. If so, can someone please give me details on how to do it? The factor of being able to do this would make or break whether I have a surface, and I really want to own one!
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    RDP works with both desktop mstsc.exe and the Modern UI Remote Desktop App, I don't know of a true VNC App in the Store. If VNC is the only option than you'll need an x86 machine that you can install legacy software onto such as one of the Atom Slates. Is the desktop a 'nix machine?
     
  3. Arctherus

    Arctherus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me tell you what I need to do. What I need to do is be able to use my computer at home from where ever I am at. 1 of my computers is strictly business, and I need to access it when I leave it home. Can I do this with the surface?
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Yes, I do this. There is an entire thread about this topic. Basically you need a Pro or higher version of Windows that supports being a RDP Host (Windows 8 Pro or higher for best results using native touch with the Surface), Configure Port forwarding of 3389 to your desktop on your home router and the Public IP address of your ISP's Connection. On the Surface RT RDP Client you would connect by IP (i.e. xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:3389 where "x" is your IP address). Using Windows 8 as host your desktop will operate just like a Windows 8 Tablet using the Surface's Touch Screen. If your Desktop is Windows 7 or earlier you will need to use the Touch or Type Cover.
     
  5. mrasmussen

    mrasmussen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Just as jn said, this is no problem as long as your desktop supports rdp
     
  6. R0bR

    R0bR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It will also be a better experience, VNC performs rather poorly compared to RDP.
     
  7. cali

    cali Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Welcome to the site. Hope you have found a workable situation allowing you to obtain a Surface.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
best vnc app for surface rt
,
surface pro 2 vnc
,

surface rt vnc

,

surface vnc client

,

vnc for surface

,

vnc for surface rt

,
vnc on surface rt
,

vnc surface rt

,
vnc viewer for surface
,
windows 8 rt vnc