Curious wifi connection issues...

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by mitchellvii, Jul 12, 2013.

  1. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    After the most recent updates have been having WiFi scanning and connection issues.

    1) All available WiFi signals show up but when selected take up to 20 seconds to connect.
    2) Once connected they will say connection is "limited" and there is no internet.
    3) Oddly, the closer I am to the router, the worse the problem becomes.
    4) I use DD-WRT firmware on my router and thus am able to set the transmission power. Again, strangely I am able to connect better with a lower power setting.
    5) Even when I can get a solid connection, webpage loads are slow and sporadic (Considering Speedtest is showing me at 33 mbps down.)

    So, something is broken in WiFi in latest updates. Seems to be transmission power related as closeness to a fast powerful signal actually makes it worse.
     
  2. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Oops just saw another thread very similar to this one. Not sure how I missed that. Oh well, Mods if you wish to merge please do :).
     
  3. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its not like every other topic doesnt have 10 threads.... but i have had Verizon for about 10years with only 3-5mbps, but recently -last week changed to Comcast and constantly show 30-50mbps however as soon as i leave the room my surface pro goes from 5bars to 3. I decided to grab this to try out. Amazon.com: Amped Wireless High Power Wi-Fi Adapter for Windows 8 (TAN1): Computers & Accessories well it does work as advertised. 5bars always. I walked to my neighbors house and still 5bars. I leave it plugged into my external dell for now and use it when i am in dt mode.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My problem isn't from far away - I have a base router and a wifi extender. My problem is when I am 5 feet or less from the router. The closer I am the worse it gets. I had my router pumped to 251mv and dropped it back to 150mv which actually helped. I would drop it further but it's a big house and the extender needs juice to pick up the signal.
     
  5. Sit

    Sit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    3rd rock from the Sun, US, Ohio.
    Wow, this looks really cool. I hate to zap the USB though but for the few times I have marginal issues, this would be a game changer.:eek:
     
  6. Sit

    Sit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    3rd rock from the Sun, US, Ohio.
    Interesting issue. I went back to 8.0 because of Wi-Fi / Bluetooth issues. Its better than 8.1 but still not perfect. I've taken notice of the strong signal / poor reception you state and will try some experimenting here. I have two wireless routers and the surface pro usually picks up on the weaker one regularly. Hmmm.
     
  7. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yeah seems like after 8.1, the SP is easily overwhelmed by a nearby powerful signal.
     
  8. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    The Marvel Adapter that Microsoft used on both of the devices supports MiraCast and there is a theory that some of the issues with the WiFi is related to it be disabled in 8.0 and now that it is enabled in 8.1 there are new issues, especially with routers that are a few years old.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Damn you Miracast, why must you haunt me?!

    Lol, kidding. Hmm, that is interesting. It is amazing how often Microsoft breaks what we all used by adding what we never asked for *. Wonder if there is a way for us to fix this by disabling Miracast (as I do not use it).

    * I think I have discovered MS's problem. You know all those hipsters dancing in their SP commercials? That's their Focus Testing Group! They're all stoned. Honestly it explains a lot.
     
  10. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One thing i did notice in 8.1 was the selective suspend was enable again. You may want to check that also.
     
  11. psnative

    psnative Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When i'm far from the router, the connection shows three bars but is slower than dogsnot. it has been this way for two days...when was that last update? I took my other computer to the same spot & worked fine so i'm thinkin' it's the SP.
     
  12. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Don't know what this is.


    Also maybe setting wifi adapter performance to maximum in power settings?
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2013

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ddwrt surface pro 2 wifi problems
,
marvell avastar 350n driver
,
marvell dd-wrt
,
selective suspend idle timeout setting for marvell avastar 350n
,
surface 2 pro wireless connection issues
,
surface 3 avastar signal
,
surface doesnt pick strongest wifi
,

surface pro wifi 270 mbps

,
surface pro wifi issues
,

surface rt wifi issues