High CPU utilization booting in dock

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by esmits, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. esmits

    esmits New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I've been noticing a strange reproducible issue that does not seem to, as yet, have been reported here. When cold booting the SurfacePro 3 (SP3) in the dock, CPU utilization creeps up, when idle, to around 28%-30% with no apparent cause. The utilization is by System and System Interrupt processes according to the task manager. I've been able to reproduce this daily, and it does not occur when the device is started outside of the dock. I can also stop this utilization issue by undocking the device hot (while running) and re-docking. You can actually have the task manager running at the time and watch these two processes stop eating the CPU when you do this. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening or is this occurring to others?
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    There was a Firmware Update that should have solved that, while plugged into the dock run Windows Update.
     
    esmits likes this.
  3. esmits

    esmits New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Downloaded and applied, thus far seems to have corrected the issue. Thank you very much.
     
    jnjroach likes this.
  4. esmits

    esmits New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Update to this issue...still occurring. Previously reported that the firmware update resolved the problem, however, it appears that the application of the firmware update and successive restart had the same effect as hot disconnect/connect in that it reset these processes and reduced CPU utilization. This issue is still occurring as reported.
     
  5. Relativity

    Relativity Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have the exact same problem as you describe. I have found also if you do a restart while in the dock, it will go to normal CPU usage levels. It is reproduced even when no ports on the dock are used. Appears to be a problem from a cold boot detecting the presence of the dock.
     
  6. ZorMi

    ZorMi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I don't have a dock, but still happens when a USB3.0 hub (with Ethernet adapter) is in USB port.
     
  7. Relativity

    Relativity Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    is it self powered? or you have an external power supply attached?
     
  8. ZorMi

    ZorMi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It's attached to a power supply.
    When carrying around I don't have a USB hub with me.
     
  9. Relativity

    Relativity Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    you're right. I booted the SP out of the dock, with the Surface Pro Ethernet adapter connected to the USB port. Interrupts and Compressed Memory process using about 30% CPU

    Booted without anything connected to USB and normal CPU usage.

    Booted with a Kingston USB Flash Stick...High CPU usage again

    so its not specific to the dock, its specific to a USB device being detected upon boot of the SP.
     
  10. Relativity

    Relativity Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    For everyone that has this problem, do you also have Cortana disabled? I did and I have enabled Cortana, and enabled the "Hey Cortana" option -- CPU usage back to normal...would like to know results of others please post here!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro 3 cpu utilization on dock

,

windows 10 surface docking usb high cpu