Is it possible to change the physical keyboard's language input?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by B Schiavo, May 31, 2015.

  1. B Schiavo

    B Schiavo New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    None
    I am thinking about purchasing a Surface, but I live outside US, and a friend of mine said it was impossible to change the device's physical keyboard's language input. Is this true?

    The default keyboard input for Surface users is "US" and I would like to change it to "US-International".
     
  2. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
  3. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    are you talking about the "onscreen KB" then you just have to download the language pack to what language you want, I have French and English on mine...
     
  4. B Schiavo

    B Schiavo New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    None
    No, it's not the onscreen keyboard, it's the keyboard in the TypeCover.
     
  5. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    well not physically but the solution I think still applies...
     
  6. B Schiavo

    B Schiavo New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    None
    To the TypeCover keyboard's input?
     
  7. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    yes.. not physically to the keys lol
     
  8. Tsurugaya

    Tsurugaya Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You just need to know where the non-English keys are located by root memory. You could also just buy a local Type Cover for your language.
     

Share This Page