Logitech K810 keyboard and 9/9/14 firmware update

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Kif, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My Logitech K810 keyboard hasn't worked correctly since I updated to the latest SP3 Firmware. I'm occasionally losing connection between the K810 and my SP3. Also when I hit the Caps Lock key everything goes haywire and my keyboard loses connection to the SP3. I tested my K810 keyboard on a couple different machines (Win 7 laptop and an iPad) and it works perfectly.

    These error messages appear in the event logs: Untitled2.png
     
  2. wditters

    wditters Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Additional comment: while it seems most obvious with the K810, I also see this behaviour occur with Microsoft's own Sculpt Mobile keyboard
     
  3. Enrico D.

    Enrico D. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nicosia, CYPRUS
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I confirm I have the same problem, I don't believe that this happen exactly the day of the firmware update 9/9/14 but to me seem it happened some day after I did the update, might be another update and not the firmware?

    by the way, can you tell me how to see that error event logs? so I check also if I have same issue.

    thank you
     
  4. wditters

    wditters Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Right-click This Pc/Manage and then go to Event Viewer in the left column and click system
     
  5. Enrico D.

    Enrico D. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nicosia, CYPRUS
    My Device:
    SPro3
    here my file, should I be worried tonight for all the warnings I see here? :) errors.jpg
     
  6. buckstar

    buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I've had the same issue - K810 works perfectly with my desktop, iPhone and Macbook Pro, but not with the surface since last week.
     
  7. Enrico D.

    Enrico D. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nicosia, CYPRUS
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I disabled the setpoint utility from yesterday and I have less issues, but always there are. Because of disconnection even the setpoint utility get problems to see the device so this send in TILT even that utility increasing the errors and things not going well... so better for now to turn off the set point utility, and to me it's going better, sometime still disconnect as I see I just don't toubh it for 10 seconds and leave it calm down... then it works fine.
    We have to wait some fix of Logitech at this point seen that Microsoft messed up??

    However we should says this in Logitech forum also, buy I guess many users already typing there. If you have more time of me or English native writers, please do it instead or before me, thanks again.
     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I had posted elsewhere on the forum a suggestion that the Setpoint software be uninstalled. I have found that in most cases it isn't needed, (not all) and it can conflict with other installed software. The problems are NOT limited to the Surface.
     
  9. wditters

    wditters Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Re: Bluetooth issues with keyboard disconnects

    Update: I noticed that my problems with disconnecting keyboards (Logitech K810 and MS Sculpt Mobile) are almost unexistent if the keyboard and mouse are the only ones that connect over bluetooth. Once I add audio over bluetooth to my Arcam RBLink receiver the problems really start hitting hard ...

    That leads me to think that somehow the bluetooth driver's ability to digest a certain required amount of bandwith has decreased with the September update.
     
    Enrico D. likes this.
  10. Secutor

    Secutor New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I can confirm I've exactly the same problem with my K810. Very unfortunate as I'm stuck here at a client location for the next two weeks with only the Logitech keyboard available.
     
  11. StephenPAdams

    StephenPAdams New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I actually have the same issue on my Surface Pro 3. My Logitech K810 has worked great. I believe the firmware update (v15.68.3055.107) is causing issues with the stability of the bluetooth keyboard.
     
  12. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I looks likely that the 9/9/14 firmware update is the culprit. How does one bring this to the attention of the Microsoft Surface team?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
k810 keypad problem
,
logitech k810 caps lock light broke
,
logitech k810 connection problems
,
logitech k810 firmware update
,
logitech k810 fn lock
,
logitech k810 losing connection
,
logitech k810 surface pro 3
,
logitech k810 windows 10 surface
,
setpoint and surface pro 3
,

surface pro 3 sept update k810