Solved Logitech Mouse Double Click Bug

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by mitchellvii, Dec 22, 2014.

  1. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If you have a Logitech Mouse and have been having issues with the mouse double-clicking when you attempt a single click, relax, the problem is NOT your SP3.

    Apparently some Logitech mice have a hardware bug where static electricity builds up in the capacitors which make the buttons work. This causes a double-click when attempting a single click (quite maddening). The solution is easy.

    SOLUTION:
    Remove the batteries and for 30 seconds, repeatedly click the left and right mouse buttons. This releases the static charge. Put your batteries back in and bingo, no more double-click.

    Hope this helps someone.
     
    machined and ptrkhh like this.
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Good trick!
     
  3. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks. I was trying to design some new reports in Access and this bug was driving me NUTS. Could't grab anything and move it. At first I thought it was Windows 10 so I rolled back to Windows 8.1. Same problem. Finally did some research (which I SHOULD have done before assuming Windows 10 was the problem << dumb!) and discovered this neat little trick.
     
  4. tony8154

    tony8154 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18


    this was my fix :)
     
  5. machined

    machined New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks... but I just bought a new Logitech mouse. I will have to use the old with your trick...
     
  6. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Double clicking is a common logitech issue. This is the first time i've heard of it being static though. My experience has always had me opening the mouse up and having to re-bend a little bit of metal under the button.
     
  7. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yep this trick actually works beautifully and much easier (safer) than doing mouse surgery.
     
  8. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It's different things. The whole no power thing did absolutely nothing to my previous mice (G5 onwards) and the only option was to remove the "spring" and re-form it to the original shape. Was a PITA. Clearly there are different fixes for different mice. But as you have no doubt seen with regard to your own mouse, these are well known issues and fixes. Logitech may make good peripherals, but when it comes to reliability i have never had anything but utter let down from logitech. Take the dinovo edge, probably the best keyboard i've ever used, bought two of them, yet they're completely incapable of fixing the connectivity dropout issues, and if you tell them that it is a widespread issue, they just tell you rubbish, google being full of these issues does not mean there is an actual issue. One of those companies :/
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

logitech mouse capacitor static

,

logitech mouse double clicks with one click

,

logitech mouse issue with surface book

,

logitech mouse that does not double click

,

mouse double click bug

,

surface mouse double cclick

,

surface pro3 mouse double clicks