Microsoft Surface Pro3 12in Win8.1 Touch Screen Lcd Display Assembly V ???

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by nikolay1966, Jan 22, 2015.

  1. nikolay1966

    nikolay1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I accidentally broke the screen and want to buy a new one ... who knows how to find information on my screen without disassembling SF3 ?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum

    I haven't seen any replacement parts from third parties so your only option would be to send it to Microsoft for repair. If you had purchased a Microsoft Complete warranty it may have been covered but otherwise you will likely need to pay for repair.
     
  3. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,691
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    As above, i've not seen any third party vendors. How long ago did you buy the surface?
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Be very careful... I seem to recall someone attempting this... but later discovered the screen lacked the digitizer. I don't know if they ever found what they needed or were successful in replacing it which is no small feat itself. Repair centers have equipment for this, they don't use the Rube Goldberg methods of iFixit.
     
  5. nikolay1966

    nikolay1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    new SF3 costs $1000 and $320 as suggested by Microsoft for a replacement, I think is very expensive and therefore ebay have offers cheaper but offers a choice of monitors .... and about the replacement I could do it.
     
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Let is know how you make out. what screens you consider... and the end result. I hope I or anyone else doesn't have to do this but... everyone benefits from shared experiences. Best of luck on your endeavor.
     
  7. AllTaken

    AllTaken Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    LTL120QL01-001 The parts are leaking out slowly. This is the right part but when you consider that the screen adhesive (most likely 3M vhb strips) is unknown it's an expensive fix.

    How much is the Microsoft repair option vs LTL120QL01-001 and required adhesive? A few months and a sp4 release will see this part cost fall but right now it makes more fiscal sense to go with Microsoft repair, Warranty and all that.
     
  8. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ebay lists a screen *without* touch (ha that wont work very well) for $99 or full replacement for $329-380
    Alibaba lists SP3 replacement screen touch+digitizer for 200-245 from China, you pay shipping.
     
  9. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You're guaranteed to make an absolute mess. The whole device is glued together, and looks very tricky to take apart and put together. Send it Microsoft.
     
    malberttoo and kekos like this.
  10. Nitric

    Nitric Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Save the trouble and your time and just send it to microsoft. The sp3 is a piece of sophisticated hardware and not something that you can easily dismantle. You might end up messing it up even more and at the end of the day, you have to send it to microsoft and probably paying more in the process.
     
  11. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Well said.
     
  12. AllTaken

    AllTaken Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The screen is broken right? He'll make no more mess taking the old screen assembly out and trying to put in a new assembly, than he would have with a broken screen :rolleyes:

    The only issue is the adhesive, but as long as he uses VHB strips of suitable thinness he'll be fine! Too many timid people in this thread - the screen is bust - plugging in 2 connections and using suitable adhesive is not the same as soldering a new chip.

    The chap didn't ask if it would be tricky, or beyond his abilities. Removing the screen intact would be a *****, if it's broken, easy. His is broken!!! Placing a new one in is simple.

    When Microsoft warranty expires and people are repairing these machines more often, then screen replacements on already broken screen surfaces becomes simple adhesive and connection job. Let's face it - he's not attaching a new touch layer to his LCD.

    I recommended going with Microsoft because the cost doesn't make sense at current prices for the part.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
change surface pro 3 screen assembly
,
digitizer assembly for microsoft surface pro 3
,
lcd surface pro 3
,
ltl120ql01
,

ltl120ql01-001

,

ltl120ql01-003

,
microsoft surface pro 3 screen assembly
,
samsung 120ql01-001
,
surface pro 3 digitizer replacement
,
surface pro touchscreen vendor id