Multiple touch inputs

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by Buddy16, Jul 13, 2015.

  1. Buddy16

    Buddy16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Dear reader,

    My surface pro recognizes multiple touch inputs when I touch the screen with one finger.. So it thinks I am touching the screen with 10 fingers at once, when I am just touching it with one finger. It has developed this problem like a month a go. I have tried to reboot the device, update the device and calibrate the touchscreen. Nothing has worked. Has someone of you ever encountered this bug/problem? Do you guys think it's a hardware or software problem? I really don't want to send it to Microsoft customer support because I need it right now. Thanks!
     
  2. cliffr39

    cliffr39 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Did you notice it after any certain updates? Could be a bad driver update that happened. As a last resort you could try the Windows Restore thing, after you ensure you are fully backed up.
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I would reset the Calibration and then walk away....calibrating is a hold over from Windows 7 code and I have found it causes more trouble with the newer Touch Technology....if that doesn't work do the reset as above.

    Make sure you also have all of the Firmware Updates. If the problem persists I would call support.
     
  4. Buddy16

    Buddy16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks for your reply! No it developed this fault out of nothing. By ''Windows restore thing
    you mean a factory reset? I could try that... thanks!
     
  5. Buddy16

    Buddy16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I will reset the calibration. I have contacted Microsoft support and they offer me a refurbished replacement device. What should I do?
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Have you reset the device as in Update and recovery - Factory Rest?
     
  7. Buddy16

    Buddy16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    No I havn't. I am backing up my files right now. When that's done I will factory reset the device. If the situation remains the same I will agree on the refurbished device they're offering me. Thanks alot for your help, I appericiate it a lot. (Sorry for my bad english).
     
  8. siers

    siers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro
    How did you go with the Factory Reset? I think I'm experiencing the same issue with my Surface Pro (I've only recently noticed the touch inputs happening in multiple places, but have been having issues with using touch for a while and thought it was just me/my understanding of Windows touch inputs). I'm also running the latest Windows 10 Insider Preview (the TH1 version) and thought it might have been that.
     
  9. Buddy16

    Buddy16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Sorry for my very late reaction... Perhaps you've already solved the problem.. The factory reset didn't work for me, so I contacted Microsoft and gues what... They gave me a Surface pro 3 plus type cover 3 and the Surface pro 3 pen!!! I'd do the same if I were you!
     
  10. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Wow! From original Surface Pro to Surface Pro 3? That's an amazing upgrade... wish mine would go wrong now lol.
     
  11. Buddy16

    Buddy16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yeh I was in shock when the guy from customer support told me that they will send me a Surface Pro 3 as a replacement. haha.
     
  12. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Should have waited one more month... might have got a Surface Pro 4 ;)
     

Share This Page