Now Running 8.1 RTM on Production Laptop at Work

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Forum' started by machistmo, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. machistmo

    machistmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    My Device:
    Other
    I am now running 8.1 RTM on my laptop at work. Our MS architect shared some keys with us and I have to say that I really, really like it. Its done some odd things lately with screen pausing and stuff, but I am not sure that our old version HEAT isn't to blame for that so....

    I just want everyone to know, that as an objective and sometimes out-spoken critic of Microsoft, this release has me thinking they just might be headed in the right direction after all... Time will tell.

    I am remoted (why isn't this a word already?!) into my work machine now exploring. This makes me want to build a windows 8 game box. Windows 7 is starting to feel old and tired and I find myself being more frustrated with 7 than ever before. I smell a trip to the local tiger direct this morning, if they have my Asus board in stock, I just might start building.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2013
  2. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Ive not got as far as installing 8.1 RTM on my desktop machines yet... but after using it on my RT for awhile Im missing it. Just under a month to go but I don't know if I can wait that long. :yelling:
     
  3. machistmo

    machistmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    My Device:
    Other
    So its go buy a new 370z or build a computer. Windows 8 can wait.
     
  4. pallentx

    pallentx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just put Windows 8 on the old one. I put it on an old Dell laptop I had laying around and its actually usable now - nice little performance bump.
     

Share This Page