Question about App store

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Apps' started by kristalsoldier, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Hi...

    Kinda late to be asking this, but it is obvious that the App store for Win 8 and Win 8 RT are different right? But I wonder why would some apps like Expedia which is available on the Win 8 store (which I access from my desktop machine) is not available in the Win 8 RT store? Is there any specific reason why?
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    All developers have the choice on how to compile their apps, x86 only, ARM only or both....I don't think I've seen a ARM only app yet though but that's likely due to the fact that Visual Studio 2012 is an x86 application and the default compile is for x86.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I see. Thanks. But it is quite odd, isn't it that apps like Expedia which would work well (in terms of utility, among other things) on a mobile platform are not released for it. Instead they are released for x86? I use Expedia on my Nexus 10 and like it quite a lot and think it would be very helpful on the Surface RT too. But obviously Expedia does not think so...at least yet!
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I think what we're seeing is the install base for x86 is much greater than ARM and developers have a better chance for usage by releasing on x86 first.
     
  5. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Yup...that makes sense, though it is a pity because it only means that development for the RT platform will be much slower.
     
  6. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    I thought the developer tools compiles both ARM and x86 versions at the same time. I know it's two different coding, but wouldn't it make sense for the tool to push out both at the same time. Just a thought. Im no developer, so don't know what it takes to develop both.
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    That is an option Darth, but IIRC the default is x86 only (I think its left over from the beta as x86 was the only real thing to code against).
     
  8. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    The difference in the App Store is that RT obviously won't see "Desktop Applications"
    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express
     
  9. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    The NVIDIATegraZone app is RT only... but that's the only one I found.
     
  10. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    For new apps it is pretty much laziness to not also compile for RT. MS has made it basically equally easy to develop for both though the default is to compile for x86 as Jeff said. It might take a little time for devs to catch on to the process for making apps for both at the same time.
     
  11. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    And since Microsoft officially said they will support RT for the next 3-4 years I don't see why not.
     
  12. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    I compile a few apps for the RT, but of course I can't share them.

    For personal use, you can get a developer account and write your own applications.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
expedia app surface rt
,
how is the surface app store 2013
,
how to searc h for apps in the surface app store
,
how to search for apps on microsoft surface store
,
how to search in the app store on the surface
,
how to search on microsoft store surface
,

surface app store

,
surface app store questions
,
surface rt search app store
,
surface search apps in store