Something is wrong with my Metro IE.. is it just me?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by thisiscarlo, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. thisiscarlo

    thisiscarlo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It seemed to happen all of a sudden for reasons unknown, but when I click on Instagram links from Twitter nothing shows up if I'm using Metro IE.

    More websites I casually click on don't render properly either. No idea how to solve this -- anybody got any similar issues?

    I'll update this post with links to websites not displaying properly as I encounter them:

    http://www.aspirecig.com/news/news175.html
    http://ca.ign.com/articles/2014/08/...-wants-silent-hills-to-make-you-st-your-pants

    [edit] Last 3 links removd
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2014
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    All of them opened in Metro IE

    Screenshot (61).png Screenshot (62).png Screenshot (63).png Screenshot (64).png Screenshot (65).png
     
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Start with running Malwarebytes just to be sure.
     
  4. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Capture.JPG
     
    TGT likes this.
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    BTW the last 3 pages look to me like pure spam. Are you trying to trick us?!
     
  6. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    If he/ she was, then he/ she has succeeded!!! :D
     
  7. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    We still can remove the links. ;)
     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Post has been edited.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Which is why I asked him to run Malwarebytes in case of DNS or browser hijack. Of course maybe the OP is the hijacker :)
     
    ctitanic and leeshor like this.
  10. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I would ask the OP to post links to sites that are not marketing relative. I would love to help him with any claim to a legit site (no containing spam).
     
  11. thisiscarlo

    thisiscarlo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    No tricks. I just happen to browse a lot of marketing-related websites for my business and those sites came up. The 3rd one is a little suspect but Backlinko and Pat Flynn's sites are 100% legit.

    Either way, it's so weird that mine renders completely different!! Here's what they look like on my Metro IE:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I already have the tracking protection installed, and Malware Bytes have been running since day 1. Just did a scan and everything's fine.

    I knew something was wrong because most sites loaded fine until a few days ago. Not sure exactly what happened. Any suggestions?

    I'd also like to add that whenever I do a Google search, I have to press back twice before it actually goes back to the search results. I've also been getting a lot of "browser is insecure" warnings from websites.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2014
  12. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Change the font size and zoom

    Screenshot (66).png
     

Share This Page