SP3 Power Options

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Tim_Johans, Dec 7, 2014.

  1. Tim_Johans

    Tim_Johans New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi All,

    I am wondering if anyone has performed the power tweak to unlock performance mode in power settings? Interestingly, when I did it, the device operates much cooler when set to "power saver" as one would expect. I also modified this plan so the CPU performance rate is the same as high performance. Intriguingly, the temperature is far lower than in performance mode, despite having the same CPU range set (between 5% and 100%).

    Has anyone else experienced this? Is it safe to operate in performance mode, or did Microsoft deliberately omit this in power options in that they only had "balanced mode"

    Cheers,


    Tim.
     
  2. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    As with any system tweaks, my response is always the same. Microsoft made this device, and customised Windows to it, so obviously they have their reasons for it, and they know plenty more about the ins and outs of the system than we do.

    Will it suit everyone? No. But what they've done should be suitable for 95% of people.
     
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    In the old days of tube TVs it was said some tweakers removed tube from circuits until it caused a problem then put the last one back and did the same in each circuit. They ultimately manufactured and sold the most unreliable TV ever produced. :)
     
  4. Captpt

    Captpt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Heat seems to keep popping up here, I've had my SP3 for weeks now and never noticed any heat issues?? I've used it for everything from browsing, PhotoShop, Office 2013 work and even playing games (EA Sports Soccer mostly lol) and yet to feel any heat issues.. I have the i5 128 version...
    My previous Nexus 10 did warm up from time to time but nothing so far with my SP3... What apps or programs are you running when this occurs??
     
  5. Tim_Johans

    Tim_Johans New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Mainly programs such as disk cleanup (initially, there where a large amount of Windows Update cleanups that took >40 mins to clear). My concern primarily is any warping or bending in the case due to heat that may occur, as has been documented on here.
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Actually the documentation here has been that it would be nearly impossible for your SP3 to produce enough heat to warp it.
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  7. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That bears repeating with emphasis.
    Actually the documentation here has been that it would be nearly impossible for your SP3 to produce enough heat to warp it.
     
    leeshor likes this.
  8. kozak79

    kozak79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The last time I tried it (by enabling Hyper-V) I got constant Blue Screens.
     
  9. Haldi

    Haldi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've Benchmarked my i5-4500U 8gb a whole lot, with Prime95 and stufff.... CPU only the CPU got 90°C but the Case never got over 50°C More like 45°C-46°C Sometimes even up to 48, but never over 50!
     
  10. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Oh to be young and be technically adventurous to do all the things I read people do with their Surfaces instead of taking it easy and just enjoying it for what it is. I was like a lot of you when I took my first micro computer home back in 1978.
     
    mahdi75, young blade and leeshor like this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

microsoft surface pro 3 power options windows 10

,

power options for surface 3 install

,

power settings sp3

,

sp3 power optipns

,

sureface2 power option

,

surface power options

,

surface pro 3 update power options

,

surface pro disk power options

,

surface pro power options

,

windows surface 2 power options