Surface Pro 3 Dock with Surface Pro 4?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by kozak79, Oct 6, 2015.

  1. kozak79

    kozak79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I can't find anything that says it will work. Some mention of a new improved Dock, but will the old one work? They old keyboards will work...

    I have a dock for my current SP3, considering upgrading to i7, 8gb, 256gb SP4 and need to know if dock will work.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I suspect it will but you and a bunch of others are also waiting for answers.
     
  3. kneehawk

    kneehawk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Well they said all surface pro 3 accessories are compatible.
    So I'd be really surprised if the old dock doesn't work.
     
    KentoC58 likes this.
  4. tarrant64

    tarrant64 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Old and New Dock will work on the Surface Pro 3. They are really showing some love between the Surface Pro 3 and 4, cross compatibility with the new accessories.
     
    KentoC58 and leeshor like this.
  5. cmergel

    cmergel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    PNW
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I have not seen any close up pictures of the SP4 and the new SurfaceConnector area or plug. It looks similar from a far.
     
  6. KentoC58

    KentoC58 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
  7. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I read that the power connector is the same. If it's in an identical place and the data lines that are in the power connector or the same then it will work. I think they didn't go into enough detail at the event that would answer question like this. They should have spent a little longer to tell us about some of the subtleties like this. I feel like the event gave us a summary and not the information you need to make wise decisions on what people might want to purchase.
     
  8. Tsurugaya

    Tsurugaya Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The event is tailored to excite the minions, not as a consumer Q&A but Panay did mention that it will slide into the existing SP3 dock just fine despite being almost a mm thinner.
     
  9. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Tom Warren tweeted the answer last night. The SP4 will work with the SP3 docking station but a spacer is needed. The spacer will be free from Microsoft store.
     
    Jim1348 and leeshor like this.
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    The fun part of all of this is MS never explained what the technology in the Power Adapter is, but we know it pushes PCIe, USB and DisplayPort all through that connector and can drive many pixels through it....labeling it would require licensing fees but call it a proprietary power/docking port is a different story;)
     
  11. r0b123

    r0b123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA (USA)
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Is this the same dock that we're talking about -> Microsoft Surface Tablets

    The proprietary port/docking port is now called "SurfaceConnect" port with the cable. I really like this and will be getting one or two to go with my SP3 and soon-to-be SP4.
     
  12. bsnguy

    bsnguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    But... my store never heard of it and after about ten minutes of looking around, took my name and number as "that shipment has been delayed."

    Whatever that means... it does work; just doesn't sit right and takes a moment to line up and get situated.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

does surface pro 3 dock work with pro 4

,
does the surface pro 3 dock work with surface pro 4
,
does the surface pro 3 dock work with the surface pro 4
,

surface pro 3 dock with surface pro 4

,

surface pro 4 dock

,
surface pro 4 dock with surface pro 3
,
surface pro 4 pro 3 dock
,
use surface pro 3 dock on surface pro 4
,
will surface 3 dock work with surface 4
,
will surface pro 3 dock work with pro 4