Surface Pro 3 Dock with Surface Pro 4?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by kozak79, Oct 6, 2015.

  1. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I blame Tom Warren!
     
  2. mikejg

    mikejg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    The SP4 does not fit perfectly into an SP3 dock. The SP4 has a shallower angle on the sides. This makes it wider at the back and that keeps the sides of the dock from closing all the way. However the connector does line up and so the dock works fine and holds the SP4 securely, it just doesn't fit like a glove. It works even without the free spacer.
     
  3. bsnguy

    bsnguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    It works without the spacer... until you knock it. My keyboard stopped responding so I needed to disconnect/reconnect it. When I tried, the SP4 dislodged from the dock pretty severely.

    We need the spacer :)
     
  4. fletch33

    fletch33 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Under a Rug
    My Device:
    SPro3
    threw mine in my dock today for work and with the keyboard removed as i always did with my SP3 and did not experience any issues. if a spacer is needed and free i will certainly apply it but my 2 additional monitors and logitech keyboard and trackpad all worked as expected.
     
  5. spinedoc77

    spinedoc77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    SP4 works just fine in the SP3 dock, in fact it works better than in the SP4 dock. I have both and did some extensive testing with them. SP4 in SP3 dock will handle 2 4k monitors at 60hz. SP4 in SP4 dock will only handle one 4k monitor at 60hz, I couldn't get the 2nd one to run plugged into the dock or into the SP4. Most likely something that will be corrected with drivers, but currently no go. Even using a SP3 with the SP4 dock was worse than using the SP3 with a SP3 dock in terms of driving 2 4k monitors.

    Also the magnetic connector of the SP sucks, if you just look at it wrong you lose connection. I prefer the nice and rock solid connection of the SP3 dock.
     
  6. bsnguy

    bsnguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    The SP3 dock is a real dock; the new "dock" is a port replicator and I hate such things. The older dock was magnificent in how securely it held the SP3 and how easy it was to use.

    Alas, the spacers are still not in stores;I've checked with MS support on this. They are willing to ship them to me. That's a deal if I can really get them. There is no ETA on when stores might have them as per MS support and my store. We'll see if that works; I'll report back if I ever get them and how long it took. They want $6 per spacer (I need three and they want to charge me $6 shipping for each... I'm promised three boxes :p).
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,945
    Likes Received:
    1,880
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Other
    They are both real docks, they use exactly the same port - the Surface Connector, the difference the new dock is also a MST Hub...design is a preference, I like the new one because I can use my SP4 as a Tablet while connected to two monitors, can't do that with the old one....
     
  8. bsnguy

    bsnguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Semantics... nothing "docks" with the new thing; it just plugs into a connector with a cable.

    I use my SP3 and SP4 with two external monitors every day with the old dock. The tablet has a port you can use while the port on the dock is used or you can daisy-chain them if your monitors that support that (I do both depending on my location and capabilities of the monitors). If you don't have daisy-chaining, then the new device is nicer as it has two outputs, but you can absolutely use two external monitors with the older dock by plugging in one cable (like you do with the new device, also, albeit a different cable).

    Cheers
     
  9. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,945
    Likes Received:
    1,880
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Other
    But you still can't use your Surface as a tablet in the old dock....I own both
     
  10. bsnguy

    bsnguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I get that. If you want to lay the tablet flat (or nearly so) then the old dock is not appropriate. Options are good! But I don't have a need for that so I prefer the sturdy simplicity of the older dock.
     
  11. Jim1348

    Jim1348 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    None
    That is great to know. Thanks for posting that.
     
  12. mtalinm

    mtalinm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    spacer is not needed.

    spacer was also not available from my local MS store.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

does surface pro 3 dock work with pro 4

,
does the surface pro 3 dock work with surface pro 4
,
does the surface pro 3 dock work with the surface pro 4
,
microsoft surface pro 4 adapter for surface pro 3 docking station
,

surface pro 3 dock with surface pro 4

,

surface pro 4 dock

,
surface pro 4 dock with surface pro 3
,
surface pro 4 pro 3 dock
,
will surface 3 dock work with surface 4
,
will surface pro 3 dock work with pro 4