Solved Surface Pro going offline when left alone

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by jmranchman, Apr 3, 2015.

  1. jmranchman

    jmranchman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have a question if I may. We recently purchased a couple of Surface Pro at our business, at 2 and a 3. They are both using docks. They are also on domains and are running 8.1. My question is this. When the user locks his computer and gets up to leave, after a few moments, the computer goes offline. I have tried setting the power settings so that it is using max performance and turning off sleep mode but it does it anyway. It happens after just a minute of them being gone. Anybody have any suggestions? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Moved to SP2 forum (from S2)....
     
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hey jmranchman, welcome!

    Are they plugged into power when they are left idle?
     
  4. jmranchman

    jmranchman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3

    Thank you for the welcome!

    Yes sir, they are docked and plugged in.
     
  5. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Okay so define "offline"- the screen simply shuts off? Or the thing actually goes to sleep, or hibernates, or shuts down?
     
  6. jmranchman

    jmranchman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3

    I can no longer ping it or see it in our network map as being online. It is almost like the NIC goes to sleep. I tried checking the power properties on the NIC and couldn't find them. These are WIRED and not using a wireless connection as well.
     
  7. jmranchman

    jmranchman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Oh, it does "wake up" when the user gets back and moved the mouse. It will start pinging again and show up in the map.
     
  8. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    And you say it's happening to both Surface Pro 2's AND Surface Pro 3's? The exact same behavior?
     
  9. jmranchman

    jmranchman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yes it does the same on both the 2 and the 3. Very weird............
     
  10. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I know I'm going out on a limb here, but any chance this could be some kind domain or group policy?
     
  11. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    The SP3 is going into Connected Standby and this is by design, the SP2 is doing it because in the Device Manager the box is checked in Power Management by default that allows the computer to but the connection to sleep to save power.
     
  12. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    May be CS. I didn't think so though because he specifically stated that they are plugged into power and he disabled sleep. Mine is set that way. If it's plugged in, and I leave it on and go to bed, it will still be on in the morning. I think his is doing... the opposite or something.

    There may be some misunderstanding though about what exactly "disabled sleep mode" means.
     

Share This Page