Using Visual Studio in the Surface Pro

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Apps' started by VictorS, Sep 6, 2013.

  1. VictorS
    Offline

    VictorS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I am new to this forum. Just got myself a surface pro. As a programmer, I am very much interested in installing Visual Studio in the pro. Has anybody tried programming in the surface pro and even installed the Visual Studio Pro. Thank you.
  2. TeknoBlast
    Offline

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    I installed SQL Server Express 2012 on my Pro and it works fine. As for the databases, since each of the databases I have can take up to 10GB each, I placed the databases on the microSD card. I develop reports in SSRS, so Visual Studio will be just fine on the SPro.
  3. jnjroach
    Offline

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,116
    Likes Received:
    753
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It will install fine, you issue is going to be disk space...I would get a 64GB Class 10 MicroSD card and move all of your personal and working data there (including VS Projects).
  4. Codevine
    Offline

    Codevine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Visual Studio works fine on the Surface Pro. I'm using it for a lot of different projects (2D games, developing some university applications and also web stuff), especially with VS 2013 it's super fast. Wouldn't mind to much about disk space, too. I have the 128GB Surface Pro and have no problems with disk space at all.
  5. batfish
    Offline

    batfish Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Welcome to the forum! :)
  6. VictorS
    Offline

    VictorS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for all for the insight. Much appreciated.
  7. dlacaba
    Offline

    dlacaba New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got VS 2012 Express installed for Win8 and Win Phone. Both work great. The screen is a little small, I have started autohiding properties/solution explorer tabs in order to show code and split screens, which I never would do on a desktop.
  8. SEANT
    Offline

    SEANT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    My Device:
    RT
    I have to rethink my setups pretty soon. For the most part I do plugin development. The desktop is dual screen 64 bit, the laptop is 32 bit, but with SSD.

    I prefer working on the dual screen but the 64bit interferes with Edit and Continue. The laptop is speedy, and allows Edit and Continue, but feels so damn claustrophobic.

    Visual Studio 2013 would certainly solve one problem: I suppose a Surface Pro with a dual monitor dock could solve the other.
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface pro visual studio
,

surface pro 2 visual studio

,

surface pro 3 visual studio

,
surface pro and visual studio
,

surface pro visual studio

,
surface pro2 with visual studio
,
surface visual studio
,
visual studio 2013 on surface pro
,

visual studio 2013 on surface pro 2

,
visual studio 2013 on surface pro 3
,

visual studio 2013 surface pro

,
visual studio for surface
,
visual studio in surface pro
,
visual studio on surface pro
,

visual studio on surface pro 2

,

visual studio on surface pro 3

,
visual studio surface 2 pro
,
visual studio surface pro
,

visual studio surface pro 2

,
visual stuido surface pro