video specs of i3 vs i5 vs i7 - differences

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Enrico D., Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Enrico D.

    Enrico D. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nicosia, CYPRUS
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I would like to know if is true that the i3 version of Sp3 is not able to support via mini display port
    the 2560x1600 resolution and/or the 4k 3840x2160.

    Then I would like a confim that the i5 is able to support the same resolutions of i7 as above.

    Finally another technical help.
    I tested my Sp3 i7 with 2560x1600 30 inch via dual-d dvi adapter and it's perfect.

    I'm going now to test the Sp3 i7 with a 4K led tv, may be in 2/3 weeks.
    My doubt is this: if I use the same content I'm using now in the 2560x1600 monitor, for same content I mean let's say 1 internet explorer page, one software java for finance, and Skype, would I have the Sp3 however using for CPU do the fact I have this higher resolution display attached and it suffer more, or it will happen only based on the fact you increase the number of softwares, pages of IE or other staff you add more because of the more space you have in the video?

    So in few words I want to know if with 4K monitor I will have more resources used, in particular the CPU just because the device suffer with this monitor that has higher resolution, for some how.
    I hope some expert can understand what I mean and resolve my doubt. thanks.
     
  2. graye

    graye Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The embedded graphic chip is the same in the i3 as in the i5 (the Intel HD4400 GPU) and the i7 has the HD5000 GPU.

    So, I'd be thinking the graphic performance/capability of the i3 and the i5 would be pretty much the same.
     
  3. Enrico D.

    Enrico D. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nicosia, CYPRUS
    My Device:
    SPro3
    http://www.zdnet.com/can-a-surface-pro-3-with-docking-station-replace-your-desktop-pc-7000032258/

    for example here says:

    "Microsoft says the i3-based model can comfortably drive two Full HD (1920 x 1200 at 60 Hz) displays, while the i5 and i7 models can power two external displays at a maximum resolution of 2880 x 1800 each at 60 Hz."

    then found here also
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microsoft_Surface_Pro_3

    Seem so that as I remember better now, the i3 is not able to drive a 4k resolution display 3840x1600, while at least one 2560x1600 should not be a problem.

    Just hope it helps to somebody that for a mistake would like to take an i3 and attach to it a 4k display.

    I wait help so for the other my doubt of what can happen to CPU USAGE if I decide to watch the same content not on a 2560x1600 display but on a higher res a 3840x2160 4k display.
    Hope somebody have an idea, if I can get more troubles for the CPU usage, if I use exactly the same quantity of pixels/content/software that I'm using now on the lower res display. Thanks
     
  4. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    From the Panos Panay/ Surface Pro 3 design team AMA at - http://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/comments/26m9cu/we_are_panos_panay_and_the_surface_team_at

    SP3graphics.PNG
     
    Enrico D. likes this.
  5. Enrico D.

    Enrico D. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nicosia, CYPRUS
    My Device:
    SPro3
    ok perfect, thanks, so with an i3 we can run a 4k monitor!! that's good for who wants to save money or just need a back up surface for an emergency.

    Now I still need to find the answers about the CPU usage when you use a 4k monitor on surface pro 3.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can a core i3 surface power a 4k monitor
,
can surface i3 play 4k
,
can the surface pro 3 i3 run 4k video
,
i3 vs i5 video
,
i3 vs i5 vs i7
,
microsoft i7 vs i5 vs i3 processor
,

surface i3 vs i5

,
surface i5 vs i3
,
surface i5 vs i7
,
surface pro 3 i3 4k video