what resolution are you running?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by mr.dj26, Jul 8, 2014.

  1. mr.dj26

    mr.dj26 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hey guys,

    share with us what res are you running :) to be honest I really dont know which one to choose.

    Im currently running on 2160 x 1440 which is the highest but the desktop apps are so tiny and when I reduce it the text seem to lose its sharpness.

    thanks
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I use the default resolution with the DPI settings with the slider at the setting one down from the right....which is approx. 150% DPI.
     
  3. Geneo

    Geneo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Default (the above).
    There's an old Windows problem fixer I tell my GF all the time: "If all else fails, right click it." This usually brings up a context sensitive menu letting you adjust or all the available options you can do.

    Right click on the desktop and there you can pick an option (View) to make the icons small, medium, or large.
     
  4. jedge

    jedge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Out of the box, the resolution is set to 2160 x 1440 and the Desktop UI is scaled up to 150%. The Metro UI scales on it's own.

    The only time you would want to change it is if you connect to an external display, like i have done here. I'm connected to a 24" monitor at 1920 x 1080 so i scaled the UI back to 100% since it's a bigger screen and lower resolution.
    Capture.JPG

    There are 2 minor problems with this:
    1) every time you "dock" the laptop you have to manually adjust the scaling
    2) changing the scaling requires a logoff/logon
     
    mr.dj26 likes this.
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Using GDI Scaling limits you to a single DPI setting across all monitors, using the Slider (8.x default) allows for the algorithm to compute the appropriate DPI for each monitor, this allows my SP3 to use 150 and my 24" 1080p Monitor to use 100.....
     
  6. jedge

    jedge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    When i use the slider, it only changes the size of the windows and text. How do you get it to change the entire UI?
    Again, the picture below is when i'm plugged into a 24" monitor.
    Capture.JPG
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    If you are using the setting above on your SP3, it would mean the SP3 is running at 100% and your external monitor is running at Approx 66% DPI.

    Windows 8.x Scaling uses an algorithm to scale based on Resolution, Screen Size and DPI to scale, the goal is to make the elements on the screens as close to each other. With my 24" 1080p Monitor using the default, my SP3 is 150% and my external monitor is 100%.

    Truly independent scaling is next to impossible because the vast majority of Win32 Programs use GDI (XP) Scaling and do not up-scale very well, hence the middle ground that MS did with 8.x.

    WinRT Apps can scale from WVGA to UHD without degradation as it is coded from the ground up to scale.
     
  8. jedge

    jedge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have the SP3 monitor turned off when i'm connected to an external monitor.

    So how do you set it to automatically scale the UI at 150% when using the SP3 screen and 100% when using an external display?
     
  9. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    If you leave it at default it should use the proper scaling leaving your external monitor at 100%....

    My wife does the same thing just uses the External Monitor when she is at her desk, I never could understand not using both, if I'm using one I'll use the SP3 as I can vet more info on it then a 1080 screen....
     
  10. mr.dj26

    mr.dj26 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    for me , the extra large 200% made the trick, now I can see everything and touch the correct spot
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

run surface pro 3 screen at 1920 x 1080

,

surface pro 4 monitor 1920 x 1080