Wireless Adaptor/card

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by Snake Doctor, Apr 9, 2016.

  1. Snake Doctor

    Snake Doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If I need a new wireless card do I have to send my Surface Pro2 in to Microsoft or can it be replaced at a pc repair shop?
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    You would need to send it to Microsoft... no parts are Field Replaceable ....
     
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
  4. Snake Doctor

    Snake Doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    GreyFox7, I like your idea and I wouldn't be without my tablet for 3 or 4 weeks. How would I disable the current adaptor, wouldn't there be a conflict?
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You can disable a Network adapter in Device Manager or Control Panel - Network Sharing Center - Change Adapter Settings.
     
  6. Snake Doctor

    Snake Doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Actually, I just put the USB wireless adapter in and windows 10 took care of everything else. How wonderful!!! I feel like I have a new machine. From everything I have read, it seems as if all Surface PRO's are having wireless issues. IPad doesn't ..... what is MS doing about their issues?
     
  7. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'm not surprised but depending on the condition of your built in adapter it might act up from time to time. Thus to be safe I'd still disable it somewhere, assuming it even shows up.

    I have seen some iPad wireless issues as well, and OSX... and just about everything else. Wireless is a Tango between your access point, your wireless devices, baby monitors, telephones, microwaves, and depending on proximity all your neighbors devices as well. If you can get on the 5ghz band because at least for now there's less interference.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2016

Share This Page