What's new

Buying Surface Pro 3 this weekend, need advice please

Pack3028

Hello everyone, I am going to be buying a Surface Pro 3 this weekend, I have been researching all different tablets for awhile now and I need something that runs a full OS and programs for work so the Surface Pro 3 is my choice.

My big question though is which one should I buy? I am stuck between the i5 and i7 , I was going to get the 256gb version of the model I purchase, however I work in the field almost every day either doing photographs, or shooting short video, I need something that I can do some Photoshop work on in the field without having to always pull a laptop out, or upload and edit some video clips around , will the i5 version handle the Adobe Creative Cloud good? I am just unsure with the i7 because I have heard of many issues of overheating and throttling with it, along with the fact of the price difference and the i7 model in 256gb isn't easy to find in a store around me.

Last question, I have a few external hard drives, can I connect external hard drive to it, to have my media files on that, I want to keep the internal drive on the Surface for the OS and programs so it doesnt get filled up quick. Thanks in advance.

tat3406

The different for i5 or i7 is not significant, all depend on personal usage. If you use Adobe CC a lot and want better performance, I think i7 is better but i5 can handle with no problem.
SP3 have a USB3.0 port to connect external hard drive. If want to connect several hard drive together you need a hub or docking station.

OP
P

Pack3028