What's new

Surface Pro 3 i5/256GB/8GB RAM - Help, please.

Hello,

I recently bought and returned (today, actually) a Surface Pro 3 i5/256GB/8GB RAM. I bought it to replace my work laptop. I am a web developer/designer. I use it for Photoshop, Illustrator and Dreamweaver, and I also have multiple web browsers and browser tabs up and running, often at the same time. I also had it hooked up to an 20" 1680 x 1050 external monitor.

I tried it out and day 1 was pretty good. I ran it with everything listed above with relative ease. It was a little laggy towards the end of the day and it got pretty hot. Day 2, I ran it all day with the charger cable plugged in. It seemed to get pretty bogged down just after lunch and by the end of the day it froze up a bit when I tried to move inside my programs, move browser tabs and closing out of browsers and programs. It was also pretty hot on the right side of the Surface.

I don't know if all of that was from overheating and throttling, if it is just not powerful enough to run everything I need run at the same time or if I got a bad unit.

I really loved the idea of the Surface Pro 3. I loved the responsiveness of the touch screen and the pen. The type cover is not that bad when paired with a bluetooth mouse. The display is vibrant and great looking. I wouldn't even mind having it as just a straight up tablet, but it is way too expensive for me. I could justify the price if I could use it for work productivity, but I cannot just for the tablet.

So, I wanted to drop by here and see if I could get some help, suggestions and/or advice. Should I try a different unit? Would I benefit from the i7 model? For my needs, should I just look for a full on laptop? Should I just wait until the Surface Pro 4?

Sorry for the long post and all of the questions. I just would really like some input from those who know better than me in this matter.

Thank you in advance for all suggestions, advice and help.

Testudo

GreyFox7

Super Moderator