What's new

Is the Surface Pro 3 still worth it?

icanisbeme

Hi all,
I apologize if I am posting this in the wrong place; I discovered this site just today.

Anyway, my question regarding the Surface Pro 3 is: Is it still a worthwhile purchase?
I am a college student looking for essentially a note taking machine. The most stressful work I might impose on the device would be a game or two of Heathstone/Elder Scrolls legends type card game, as I have a gaming laptop for everything else; or I might be running some coding projects of my own in various environments as I am a Computer Science student, could it handle that if I get the i5 version?
I have been researching my options and have found refurbished Surface 3 Pros for ~$400, the i5 and 128gb models, which seems like quite a good value and I am tempted to purchase.
Is this the right product for me, or do you have any other products I should be looking at? (Price is a big point for me btw, which is why I am tempted for the pro 3 rather than anything newer)
Thanks!

TL,DR: Is the Surface Pro 3 still a relevant device worth buying today?

MickeyLittle

Yes the SP3 is still very relevant today although for this price I imagine this to be with 4gb ram and not 8. But still it should do what you are talking about just fine as it was/is a workhorse!

OP
I

icanisbeme

Yes the SP3 is still very relevant today although for this price I imagine this to be with 4gb ram and not 8. But still it should do what you are talking about just fine as it was/is a workhorse!

Yes, it is the 4 gb, but I don't see myself doing a whole lot of multitasking on it...Maybe OneNote, 3-5 Chrome tabs, and a terminal or something tops, which should be enough for that I would imagine.

Thanks for your input!

MickeyLittle

No problem. Also if you can upgrade to Windows 10 it will run better than the 8.1 that it will probably come with and then I suggest using/getting used to Microsoft Edge instead of Chrome for battery life. Just my 2 cents.