What's new

Just purchased a Surface 2... My thoughts

moneymikefromgr

I just purchased a Surface 2. I was skeptical of Windows RT so I waited. I have a couple of thoughts about it.

1. Its still windows at heart! When I set it up, I was very eager to play with it, but didn't want to let all the updates finish before I started playing with it. Bad Idea, as I found myself searching forums to fix the broken store, and failing updates. After the updates finally successfully installed, it works like a charm!

2. Sound is terrible on this device! Turned off sound enhancements which helped as little bit, but the speakers are very weak, and pop on this device!

3. Type 2 keyboard is awesome. I thought I ordered a touch keyboard, so I was surprised when I opened the package that it was the other one. But glad I got this one.

After all the pain of getting it updated and getting it all personalized, I have to say that this device is great, and for what I need, Windows RT isdn not bad at all. I think the battery life and speed is worth the trade-off not being able to run x86 programs.

Deihmos

gg

I had the Surface 2 but got rid of it and got the Surface Pro for the same price. The surface 2 is ok but the limitations do not justify the price imo especially since you can get the Pro for the same price. The pen is a great bonus.

OP
M

moneymikefromgr

I was wondering if using a capacitive stylus is worth anything on the surface 2? I know it would not be pressure sensitive, but usable?

kristalsoldier

I had the Surface 2 but got rid of it and got the Surface Pro for the same price. The surface 2 is ok but the limitations do not justify the price imo especially since you can get the Pro for the same price. The pen is a great bonus.