What's new

SP4 M3 vs. SP4 i5 - My Own Battery Life Face Off

DavidZ

I have in my possession both the SP4 M3 and the SP4 i5 (4GB/128BG) for the next week. So I decided to run my own battery life comparison.

I consider the following results just a dry run. I plan to run these 2 PCs until they shut down sometime this weekend.

I went to endlessvideo.com and picked the same video to run on both PCs. When I came home from work today, I turned off the sound (to keep my sanity) and just let them run from a fully charged state.

1 hr 3 min -- i5 87% remaining -- M3 89% remaining
2 hr 5 min -- i5 73% remaining -- M3 76% remaining
3 hr 0 min -- i5 60% remaining -- M3 65% remaining

I think I may have handicapped the i5 a bit because I had 4 other Edge tabs open at the start. I closed those 4 extra tabs about 5 minutes after the start.

I'm no tech expert, so if anyone has any suggestions about how to make the comparison more fair, please let me know so I can do the best possible test this weekend.

mva5580

I don't think there's really anything else you need to do beyond what you're showing there; it's probably what should be expected. It's not like you're going to get an extra 2 or 3 hours out of it consistently, if ever.

The M3 is better, but not better enough to make it a be-all-end-all difference/decision maker.

If the extra $100 is REALLY that much of a factor to people, get the Core M. Otherwise, get the i5.

raqball

Disagree.....

There are plenty of other reason to get the core M besides the $100 difference..

No fan and better battery life. If you don't need an i5 then why 'waste' a $100???

mva5580

I'm not sure 2 reasons qualifies as "plenty," but whatever.

The battery life isn't that significantly better (as is shown above) and if not having a fan is that important to you then I'm not sure a device running full Windows in this form factor is a good allocation of money to begin with.

But again...whatever. Not my money so I don't really care.

OP
D

DavidZ