What's new

Stability question

John Semberger

Absolutely love the Surface Book and settled on this as my production device after using several different laptops and tablets over the last few months. I have the i5 no GPU version as that is plenty for me and I need the extra battery life. I am a technology consultant so daily use consists of running the Office suite (2016), remote access to customer servers, and running Powershell for Office 365 customers. I heavily use Outlook and Word during the day and also do a lot of web research using edge and do not have any Google products installed. No video or picture editing and no movie watching.

Since the last round of updates the system seems pretty stable and I don't have any issues running what I mentioned above with one exception. I am still getting random times when the screen will freeze, then go black, then return and I will see the video driver stopped and restarted. When this happens I can continue running as normal so it is not the end of the world but it is still a pain, especially when I am in the middle of something important. There does not seem to be any rhyme or reason to apps as it does it when running only Word and Outlook, or could be in just Outlook, or could be just using Edge. This happens sporadically and could be once a day, or sometimes not for several days. With average weekly business use I get this around three times a week.

I ran a full clean install when I purchased this several months ago and not opposed to doing that again if anyone thinks that would help. I don't see any comments here where others are running in to this issue as of late so I was wondering if this is still a problem others are having? Also what would you suggest to try and address this? All updates have been done as I am religious about that part and I am not sure I want to set this for Insider Preview since this is my production machine.

Any comments are appreciated.

OP
J

John Semberger