What's new

Type Cover Use in Portrait Mode

Earthcop!

Heya people,

I just got a Surface Pro 2 and am loving it, although I've been having trouble developing a basic workflow on the thing.

I'm an illustrator and therefore use portrait mode quite often, but my type cover gets disabled when ever I flip it to this orientation. This is a huge hassle, because I use keyboard shortcuts all the time in photoshop. I've messed around with on-screen macro keys and things of the like, but it's simply just to clumsy to effectively use.

So the question is, how can I enable the type cover while the screen is in portrait mode? Theoretically you can enable it by setting the monitor to portrait, but this is finnicky and often undoes itself. I've found ways to make photoshop more user friendly by changing registry keys, but I have not found any for the covers yet.

I've scoured google for answers to no avail, and haven't seen anything around here either. Any thoughts?

Thanks for your time guys.

OP
Earthcop!

Earthcop!

Thanks for the timely response, but this isn't quite what I had in mind. As I said, I've messed around with on-screen buttons before and find them cumbersome. Meanwhile, I've considered the wireless adapter but it seems ultimately kind of unnecessary to me to carry around an extra accessory for something that is happening at the software level. Not to mention, I'm not sure if the keyboard will still be disabled in portrait mode, even with the adapter attached.

So, from what your saying, there doesn't seem to be any obvious way to do this? I've found ways to alter the touch functions through changing registry keys, but have not found any way so far to manipulate the keyboard through this method.

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
Did you look at the first link? It is a floating toolbar specifically for tablet users who use Art Programs, specifically the keyboard shortcuts.

oion

Heya people,