Can the i5 SP3 power a 4K monitor?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by kiwigirl, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. kiwigirl

    kiwigirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just curious. Hoping to do it without the dock. I picked up an unreal deal on a 40" Philips 4K for $699CDN and wont open it unless the SP3 can power it. I have the i5 model.
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Yes, at 30Hz as the Haswell GPU can handle 4K at 30Hz. Technically it can actually support up to 50Hz but very few 4K monitors support the customer refresh rate.
     
    kiwigirl likes this.
  3. ChiGGz

    ChiGGz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Toronto
    Sounds like you also got this monitor at Best Buy :)

    I've been able to get the SP3 i7 to do 4k @ 50 hz. This requires you to install the intel graphics control panel and create a custom resolution. Be sure to select CVT-RB otherwise you won't get >30hz
     
  4. kiwigirl

    kiwigirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Chiggz,

    Yes I got 50hz working too, need to use the Intel control panel.

    Wow is the text ever so much sharper with DP1.2 and not HDMI - MiniDP adaptor.

    I didnt think it would be any different but with HDMI, the chrome text was a bit fuzzy. But with the 1.2DP, its night and day different. WOW.

    The 50hz also makes all the difference. At 30hz, the mouse was not smooth and was annoying.

    ANd yes got mine from Best Buy, amazing deal for a great 4K monitor. Wow
     
  5. ChiGGz

    ChiGGz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Toronto
    Yup looks gorgeous. We both got in on the same deal.

    BTW, why did you think the DP on the dock would be any different than the internal mDP?
     
  6. kiwigirl

    kiwigirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Not sure. I thought perhaps the dock put out a better signal than the Mini DP on the SP3 itself.

    I dont have the dock anyways cause I want to keep the wires and clutter down on the desk.

    Its nice that this monitor has 3 USB 3.0 ports.

    I still cant believe how much of a difference it made going from the HDMI to MiniDP adaptor vs straight DP to MiniDP1.2 and the 30 vs 50hz. This monitor is unuseable in 30hz.

    I wonder if its possible to get this running at 60hz.
     
  7. rikracer

    rikracer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Weatherford Texas
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Kiwigirl, which dp to mini \DP1.2 adaptor are you using?
     
  8. kiwigirl

    kiwigirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Fisher
     
  9. rikracer

    rikracer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Weatherford Texas
    My Device:
    SPro3
    thank you
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can a surface pro 4 power a 4k monitor

,

can sp3 power 4k monitor