Device Encryption not working

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by unfeomateo, Jul 10, 2014.

  1. unfeomateo

    unfeomateo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am talking about device encryption in windows 8.1 and not bitlocker.


    I have 8 Surface 3's. All are on a windows domain. 2 are also setup with a Microsoft account. Only one surface had device encryption running properly. The other 7 said device encryption is temporarily suspended. After a reboot I still get the error.

    I then removed device encryption and rebooted on all 8 of the devices. When I go to re-enable device encryption I get en error "something went wrong" even on the one surface that was previously working.

    I really can not find any fix on the internet besides someone mentioning a hotfix that does not apply to my system.

    This working for others?

    Thanks
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  3. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I was going to ask what encryption software did he purchase since he didn't use the free bit-locker device encryption that comes with the OS.
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    If disable Bitlocker on CS enabled machine I believe it also will disable CS as it is a requirement for CS to function correctly...
     
  5. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Oh? So Bitlocker is enabled on the SP3 by default?
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Yep, on any Connected Standby enabled machine it is required OOB, on a personal machine the recovery key is stored in your OneDrive here:

    https://onedrive.live.com/recoverykey

    And if it is joined to an Active Directory Domain that is configured correctly it is stored in AD as an AD Object attached to the Computer SID
     
    jimp likes this.
  7. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Wow, had no idea, thanks!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

device encryption is temporarily suspended

,
device encryption is temporarily suspended windows 10
,
device encryption temporarily suspended
,
encryption is currently suspended windows 10
,
surface 3 encryption
,
surface pro 3 device encryption
,
windows 10 device encryption temporarily suspended
,
windows 10 home device encryption suspended
,
windows 10 home device encryption temporarily suspended
,
x2 device encryption temporarily suspended