Full Res anyone?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by puma, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. puma

    puma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Just curious are you using the 2160X1440? To avoid the scaling issues while docking with an external monitor and issues with programs scaling, I want to use this native res.. but I find it almost painful.
    I wonder why Microsoft puts this kind of res on the screen, is it to accommodate external displays? What's everyone else experience with this?
     
  2. mcsenerd

    mcsenerd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nation of Texas
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I'm utilizing the native resolution of the display and have no issues. It's one of the "slam dunks" as far as the best of what's new on the SP3 as far as I'm concerned. I find it much more enjoyable versus the resolution on the SP1/SP2.
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I use the native resolution on my Surface Pro 3 and have no issue with external displays but I extend rather than mirror my desktop.
     
  4. Seneleron

    Seneleron Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The display resolution of the screen has NOTHING to do with external monitors. The maximum resolution supported is governed 100% by the CPU. MS has nothing to do with it.

    The reason for the 2160 x 1440 display is because the more densely packed and smaller the pixels, the "sharper" the image on the screen.

    I use this thing with a 21:9 2560 x 1080 monitor and a 27" 2560 x 1440 monitor. I have *NEVER* experienced scaling issues. Just make sure you're not duplicating displays, and set it to default to the external monitor when it's connected. Mine always auto corrects to the right settings.
     
  5. puma

    puma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I guess where I am coming from is more where I use Outlook for example. I can barely read my email it's so freakin small. And I find myself squinting for long periods of time when using it as a laptop.
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Are you using the default settings that came with the SP3 or have you adjusted or changed the DPI settings?
     
  7. puma

    puma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    i changed them to 100%. If I'm going to use this as a full time machine I cannot use apps like Outlook looking the way they do at 150%. Icons look awful also. I guess that's just the way it is though.
     
  8. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I installed the 64bit version of Office 2013 and have no issues with fonts even at the default SP3 settings....
     
  9. BaritoneGuy

    BaritoneGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Personally I think that Outlook 2013 and the rest of the MS desktop apps look fine at 150%. Any hi DPI display will require scaling. My Lenovo Yoga pro Scales at 200%.
     
  10. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Well, without playing around with the settings at all, I think desktop items also look very small on the SP3 - especially in File Explorer. I wish the default font-size was maybe 1 pt higher than what it currently is.
     
  11. Klownicle

    Klownicle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes, I am. Always have. Always will. I'll go blind before I use scaling. I'm a perfectionist, everything must match. I don't care to run into little quirks where some applications are blurry.
     

Share This Page