HDMI Not Working on RT?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by cheath, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. cheath
    Offline

    cheath New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I am having trouble getting HDMI to work. I used it initially to test functionality and had no issues. But it hasn't worked since. I've tried multiple cables and different TVs with nothing. I can plug BB Playbook in on same setup with no issues. I can't really find any setting in control panel other than "adjust commonly used items" under hardware and display which has absolutely nothing for hdmi. Is there something im missing? I do not have MS OEM cable, but my cable worked initially. I have not done a reset and hoping to avoid if possible. Any suggestions?
  2. leeshor
    Online

    leeshor Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    Other
    Some TVs may not auto-sense the connection. That would require manually changing the input on the TV. Worth a try. Also you may want to try restarting your Surface, possibly even with the cable attached.
  3. TrentonT
    Offline

    TrentonT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Trenton Ontario Canada
    1 person likes this.
  4. cheath
    Offline

    cheath New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    hjbhjbn

    When I say not working, I mean I can't even get signal from Surface. Surface does not even recognize I have plugged in HDMI cable. If I was taking an uneducated guess, I would say my HDMI output is bad. But I want to see if anybody else has had same problem and try a few things before I reset and or return. It worked when I got unit without any problems, but tried over holidays on parents tv and wouldn't work.
    I can plug HDMI cable into my Playbook and works great and I have tried two different cables. I plug into Surface and all I get is "No Signal" screen on tv. I've tried 3 different tvs, one of which Surface worked with when I initially got unit. I get nothing as far as setting mirror, 2nd screen, etc. Only way I can get to these settings is in Hardware and Sound; commonly used mobility settings. It never recognizes a tv. I have already tried turning Surface off and on again with cable connected as previously mentioned with no better results. I really don't want to reset unit, but that is my next step if nobody has any other ideas. I thought it may be a setting but have found no other settings that are associated with HDMI. Thank you in advance. And yes, I checked to make sure plug was clean on Surface and HDMI cable.
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
  5. R0bR
    Offline

    R0bR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you have the HDMI plugged in and to the TV does the Surface show dual monitors in the Display Properties or just the single for the Surface?
  6. cheath
    Offline

    cheath New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    It's only seeing Surface monitor. It doesn't recognize that I even have another plugged in. No chime or anything.
  7. surfacetablethelp
    Offline

    surfacetablethelp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Using other Hdmi cable
  8. ArnoldC
    Offline

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    I am bothered, really, by your one liner posts. Seriously. If you had read the reply from the OP, he already tried different cables.
  9. cheath
    Offline

    cheath New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I found resolution from a member on wpcentral. It was a complete oversight on my part and I'm kind of embarrassed. I thought I was using original cable when in fact my dad had "borrowed" mine and left me his. The one he left wouldn't work on his Surface either and it was the one I was primarily testing. Turns out it was just the angle where hdmi port is preventing the cable from going in far enough to make connection. I thought that was how far it always stuck out as I assumed it was my original cable and the other cables I tried had same issue. Filed plastic down on front side and worked just fine. I'm just glad it was an easy fix. Thanks again.
  10. R0bR
    Offline

    R0bR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good to hear it was a simple fix.
  11. ArnoldC
    Offline

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Surface redeemed from blame :D
  12. clehmann
    Offline

    clehmann New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me add a twist to this. I can play video fine on my TV using an HDMI cable (which I bought for my Droid Razr) to connect my Surface to my TV, but the sound plays only on the Surface. How do I get the sound onto the (much more powerful) TV speakers?
  13. ArnoldC
    Offline

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Go to the Sound Playback, and make sure the HDMI device is selected.
    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express
  14. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I guess not all cables are created equal.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface hdmi not working
,

surface hdmi not working

,
surface rt hdmi
,
surface rt hdmi audio
,

surface rt hdmi not working

,
surface rt hdmi out
,
surface rt hdmi out not working
,
windows rt hdmi not working