Hyper Tube for Youtube

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Rich OReilly, Jan 22, 2015.

  1. Rich OReilly

    Rich OReilly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Anybody using Hyper Tube for YouTube playback?
    I've had nothing but issues with it freezing up and stream interruptions.
    I tried upgrading but still same issue.

    What are others using for YouTube Metro apps?
     
  2. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I use the YouTube web site? why use a metro app?
     
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Same here. I used HyperTube once, but just didn't feel the love.
     
  4. mohcho

    mohcho Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Try MetroTube. Works great and is simple to use.
     
  5. nipponham

    nipponham Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Japan
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You mean “Hyper”, right? I use it and even paid for the pro version. That’s how much I like it. Customizable home screen, snap view that automatically adjusts to the window size, fast, easy, multiple downloads of 1080p videos and mp3s, ability to play and browse simultaneously, ability to browse subscribed channels and playlists and pin them to Start… just to name a few features that I like.

    There was one time when the app would open but would immediately shut down anytime a video was selected to play. Deleting then reinstalling the app fixed it. Other than that, no problems whatsoever.
     
    uksparx, cheltenham2004 and ptrkhh like this.
  6. m0v1em4n

    m0v1em4n Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    I use it and think its great, no problem
     
  7. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I was hugely frustrated with IE, it would play a video for 10-11 mins then just give me spinning circle. I had to force refresh, then skip back or forward in the video to get it playing again. Every video, 10 mins, and dead. Hence why I got Hyper.

    I also have the paid for Hyper, I think it's great. The developer also seems great, I had an issue once where it wouldn't play any videos (turned out Google changed the API, again...). I sent an email and he responded, told me easiest option was to use the "web" view rather than "hyper" view for the time being, but a few days later it was back to normal!
     
  8. Gavin Lewarne

    Gavin Lewarne Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I really like hypertube, I use it all the time as my preferred method of YouTube content delivery. in fact I prefer to use metro apps if one is available rather than browser clients
     
  9. Jamie Youngblood

    Jamie Youngblood Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hyper is great. If you have playback problems, you can switch to the YouTube player under Settings->Player (although it can be difficult to skip forward and back accurately using touch because of YouTube's tiny progress bar.)
     
  10. kozak79

    kozak79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I use HyperTube. It's great but you need to set one thing. Change the default playback to 720p, and you won't have any issues. The freezing happens because by default it will stream at the highest resolution and the buffer can't keep up, no matter your internet speed. This has also been an issue on apple devices using the official youtube app. I have a 50/25mbps connection at home and I still have trouble playing 1080p content without letting it buffer first.
     
  11. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Maybe you need faster internet :p

    My default is 1440p, using 160Mbps broadband, never have any issues.
     
    nipponham likes this.
  12. JB 2.0

    JB 2.0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I'm a big fan of hyper too, the metro apps just don't seem to get enough love.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
hipertube
,

hyper for youtube not working

,
hyper for youtube sleep
,
hyper for youtube win8 buffer faster
,
hyper for youtube wont start
,

hyper tube

,
hyper tube for youtube
,
hyper youtube surface
,

hypertube

,

hypertube download