Is this a new threat?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by dcoplien, May 5, 2016.

  1. dcoplien

    dcoplien Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisoconsin
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I just got a pop-up warning saying windows firewall blocked my touch keyboard on public networks. Is this new? All windows touch or just SP4?? I have never had that happen before. I usually don't take my keyboard with me.
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This an official MS TypeCover keyboard or a bluetooth variety?

    The TypeCover of course uses a physical (pseudo USB) connector so that message doesn't make much sense in that context.
     
  3. dcoplien

    dcoplien Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisoconsin
    My Device:
    SPro4
    The warning is for the touch (pop-up) keyboard
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Oh, that doesn't make any sense either, at least not logically.

    Perhaps a keylogger ??? Id scan with malwarebytes.
     
  5. dcoplien

    dcoplien Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisoconsin
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I did and it found nothing. The message made it sound like this could be a newly discovered glitch in Windows. I left where I was. Next time I go back I will try and remember to unblock it in the firewall then write down the full message.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2016
  6. dcoplien

    dcoplien Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisoconsin
    My Device:
    SPro4
    All I could find on it was a number of people that had the same problem (on a surface) in 2013. The response was via private message so that didn't help. One person implied it was updating the touch software which didn't make that much sense. At least I know I am not the only one that has received the message but appear to be the most recent.
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Microsoft's Touch Keyboard send anonymous data back to help predictive typing and auto correct.... it is in the Privacy and EULA...
     
  8. dcoplien

    dcoplien Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisoconsin
    My Device:
    SPro4
    My internet went down so I set my phone as a hotspot. It was blocked. Called the carrier and was told ALL internet in my area was blocked. After my internet connection came back on, I tried the hotspot again and it worked. Something must be going on locally. I have noticed for two days slow connections from Charter and AT&T. Whatever it is may be why I got a warning that I never had before and I have used that connection hundreds of times.
     

Share This Page