My SP3 froze in a meeting

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by WorldIRC, Jul 22, 2014.

  1. WorldIRC

    WorldIRC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My SP3 froze in a meeting yesterday while reviewing a high-value contract with a client. How embarrassing :(

    /end rant
     
  2. Dim-Ize

    Dim-Ize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Brentwood, TN
    Where you presenting - as in from PowerPoint? What were you doing when it froze?

    No doubt, that is embarrassing. I had a similar scenario with Miracast earlier this year. Remember though, your customer is buying from you, not MS. You're the one that delivers the value, the ROI, and the experience.
     
    tuchas and WorldIRC like this.
  3. Rugbyguy541

    Rugbyguy541 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    OryGun
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have had that happen when trying to show off for friends. Before I teach a class, I restart my SP3 and go through and kill of all non-essential functions. I teach classes for my co-workers, so I get teased a lot if my stuff doesn't work. I'm the "nerd" of the shift, so I get lots of crap if I try and do new cool stuff and it doesn't work haha.
     
  4. WorldIRC

    WorldIRC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I simply had Adobe Reader open (Metro UI). I was just going through a 15 page contract / PDF (client had their own copies to follow along so I didn't need to project onto a screen). All apps were closed.

    It's Windows; it happens. Just annoying.
     
  5. WorldIRC

    WorldIRC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Agreed; I already won the deal anyway. I was just there going through some points with purchasing and legal for my client.
     
  6. tuchas

    tuchas Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hmmm... Macs may crash, but they crash a mere fraction of the time that this thing does. I have to reboot my SP3 at least once a day, and frankly it's getting old. MS better fix this nonsense or I'm done.
     
  7. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Well, I don't know what are you doing and have installed in your PRO3 because I never have seen mine crashing. I have not seen a BSD since long time ago and never in this machine.
     
  8. WorldIRC

    WorldIRC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    For me; this was the only time it's frozen. That being said...my Lenovo W520 with Windows 7 has only frozen 2 or 3 times in the nearly 3 years I've had it.
     
  9. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    What the heck have you loaded on your SP3? I haven't seen a crash on mine and I use it 14+ hours a day...
     
    cemian and eltos_lightfoot like this.
  10. bamaster

    bamaster Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Mine crashed a few times in the two weeks I had it but I didn't worry about it. It's a thing I, being an avid early adopter, am used to. The SP2 and X1 Carbon were both buggy as hell at first, but now They're pretty rock solid.

    I've had a Macbook Pro and Air. They were anything but perfect when I upgraded to Lion. For me, Mac OS's biggest problem is Mac OS. I just hate it. hehe
     
  11. eltos_lightfoot

    eltos_lightfoot Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Man, I reboot my SP3 like once a week, just because I want to. That's weird it froze up...
     
  12. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Thailand
    Yes, how unfortunate. Seems to have always been an inherent Windows issue.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

frozen surface pro 4

,
how do i go through a restart on my srrface pro 3
,
how do you reboot frozen surface pro 3
,
my sp3 froze
,
my surface pro 3 has froze
,
my surface pro is frozen what do i do
,
reboot frozen surface pro 4
,

sp3 froze

,
sp3 meeting
,
surface froze