What's new

Note taking?

mr.dj26

Hi guys,

I am thinking of getting the SP3(after seeing the reviews:in love:) to replace my papers and books. I would like to know your thoughts, does the digitizer replace the paper and pen?

I haven't used windows 8 or 8.1 but I know the snap feature and I want to know if its possible to snap chrome browser with a the note app and cut pictures or text from chrome and past them in the note directly. I mean just like the samsung note or what ever it it , I did not use one but I saw a commercial doing that copy and paste thing :p

Thanks in advance :D

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
I've been using TabletPCs since 2003 and haven't taken paper based notes since then. I have OneNote Notebooks dating back 11 years, all searchable (as ink is treated like any typed text in Windows). This SP3 aspect ratio is perfect for notes and reading large tomes of reference material.

With any Windows 8 machine that is possible, with the SP3 is it supper easy using the Pen by double clicking the top pen button, selecting the part of the screen and it then pasts the clip into your notes.

scfoster

Depends on how you take notes. If you have a paper notebook or post-it note or scrap of paper handy, you're on the phone and have to write something down, you'll more than likely reach for an ink pen than the stylus/SP3. That is unless you have the discipline to use the SP3, even though it does take more effort up front.

The payoff is that you have everything in one place. I have a Samsung Note 3 to provide the "scrap paper" availability when the SP3 isn't handy.

So it can be done but it can be difficult at first.

OP
M

mr.dj26

Depends on how you take notes. If you have a paper notebook or post-it note or scrap of paper handy, you're on the phone and have to write something down, you'll more than likely reach for an ink pen than the stylus/SP3. That is unless you have the discipline to use the SP3, even though it does take more effort up front.