Screen density - Why can i see more at a lower resolution?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by riggi, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. riggi

    riggi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If I set my resolution to 1920*1080 I get 3 rows of tiles on the metro screen and if I go into the pc settings from the charms menu I can't see all of the items in the left pane. I have to scroll down a bit.

    If I set my resolution to 1600*900 I get 4 rows of tiles and in the pc settings menu I can see all items without scrolling.

    To me, everything is a nicer size at 1600*900 (it doesn't look so "Fischer Price") but the fonts etc. look sharper at 1920*1080.

    Does anyone know how to get the same screen density at 1920*1080 as you do at 1600*900?
    Is there some reg hack to trick the system to thinking your display is a different size or something?

    Thanks,
    Rich
     
  2. cienveryon

    cienveryon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    Do you know the default scaling factor is 125% in 1920*1080? I dont know what is the factor in 1600*900, maybe 100%. You can check it at screen resolution setting page.
     
  3. riggi

    riggi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes.
    This is with 100% scaling for both resolutions.

    If you change the resolution, the scaling doesn't change.

    If you change the scaling, you need to log out and log back in to windows.
    Here is what each resolution looks like at 100% scaling
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    1600x900

    1920x1080
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
  4. apoc_reg

    apoc_reg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Same here, its odd!!
     
  5. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yeah this is very strange. Curious.
     
  6. Mr.NK

    Mr.NK Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Berlin
    My Device:
    RT
    There's a thread to change the screen-size (in ") in the registry to get 4 or 5 tiles - 12.1" delivers a good compromise between 4 rows and having still an usable screen-keyboard.
     
  7. cienveryon

    cienveryon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    I think the modern UI has its own scaling factor other than the desktop scaling factor. Maybe it cannot changed. No idea.
     
  8. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Where is this thread of which you speak?
     
  9. riggi

    riggi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    18
    OK. I've set my monitor to 12.7". Using the reg entry here
    Everything is a nicer size.
    I can use 1920x1080 with 100% scaling, and just increase the font sizes under the scaling settings to 12 and it looks good.

    The settings screen from the charms bar looks good now.

    Only "problem" is I get 5 rows of tiles on the Metro screen and I'd prefer 4 with slightly larger tiles and text.
    I can't seem to force it to 4 rows. I'll live with/get used to the 5 rows for the sake of everything else looking nice.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

max tile rows at 1920 1080

,

surface pro fake density resolution

,

surface pro tiles denser

,

why does 1080p surface show less tiles than larger screens

,

why does my surface pro show 3 tile rows 1920 x 1080

,

why is my resolution on the surface pro not 1080