Spartan browser

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Joe Torres, Mar 14, 2015.

  1. Joe Torres

    Joe Torres Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I don't want windows 10 but can I just get Spartan browser with Kortana?
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    We don't believe Spartan will be available on older versions of Windows. Maybe it will come out on iOS and Android. :)
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Everything that has been said so far, Cortana and Spartan will only be available on Windows 10 and will not be back ported to 8.x...
     
    BChat likes this.
  4. Joe Torres

    Joe Torres Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have 8.1 pro windows but really like it don't want the full windows 10 change.
     
  5. ptrkhh

    ptrkhh Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Microsoft mentioned that Spartan is not coming to Windows 7, which might mean it will come to W8
     
  6. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    63
    From what I can see, Spartan is made as a Universal App. This is framework only on Windows 10 (phone with Windows 10, and XBox one)
    Windows 8 and older doesn't support Universal App as of now.

    You can however, upgrade your Windows 7 to Windows 10 when it will come out. Microsoft will do an offer where, if you have Windows 7 or 8.1, you can upgrade to Windows 10 for free. The offer last 1 year from its official release. If you don't upgrade by then, then you'll need to go at the store and buy it, like everyone else.
     
  7. r0b123

    r0b123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA (USA)
    My Device:
    SPro3
  8. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think they will use it as another carrot for upgrading to 10. I do not expect to see it on 8 or 8.1.
    Wouldn't Spartan on 8.1 be Windows 9? :D
     
  9. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm still on 8.1 so I haven't even tried 10 but I thought I read that Spartan wouldn't even be ready when 10 was released later this year?
    Are you guys using Spartan already as 10 Beta testers?
     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    We have part of the Spartan Engine in 9926, the next build is rumored to have the first beta. Spartan will be the default browser and IE 11 an optional component mainly for Enterprise Customers.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
edge browser for rt
,
edge browser for windows rt
,
get spartan browser
,

how to get spartan browser

,
project spartan windows rt
,
spartan browser forum
,
spartan browser on windows rt
,
spartan browser windows rt
,
spartan for surface rt
,
will windows rt get spartan browser