Solved Surface Pro 3 i7 HD5000 Graphics Panel Lost

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Lawrence Overman, Aug 12, 2014.

  1. Lawrence Overman

    Lawrence Overman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, Had my Surface Pro 3 for over a week now and loving it. Been playing battlefield 4 and it seems to be working well. When I right click on the desktop I am sure there was a Intel Graphics Panel option. For some reason mine has disappeared. Has anybody else lost this panel? How do I get it back? Hope you can help, I posted the question on the Microsoft website but have not yet had an answer.
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If you updated the graphics driver manually from Intel you will get the panel. The drivers coming from MS update do not have the panel. So Windows update may have disabled the panel.

    Oh, and Welcome aboard!
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2014
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I don't recall that... can you provide a screen shot :)

    Seriously, I don't have that either and don't remember seeing it. So you are not alone anyway. it appears to be part of the Intel driver package install best I can tell from a cursory look.

    If it was there and isn't now Id think a driver update eliminated it, perhaps for a reason. I guess we'll see what others have to say.
     
  4. megatronium

    megatronium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have beta Intel drivers 10.18.10.3652. You have to install these manually. The control panel is there for me. Gives some nice additional options such as "performance" mode. Also, you can use OpenCL with these drivers in CC2014 and 3D applications.
     
  5. Lawrence Overman

    Lawrence Overman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Thanks for all the replies. Do you have a link for the drivers.
     
  6. megatronium

    megatronium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
  7. Lawrence Overman

    Lawrence Overman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the quick reply. Tried to install but is says this driver will not install as it is not validated for this computer. Any ideas?
     
  8. megatronium

    megatronium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Extract the driver. Update the driver via Device Manager. Look in the folder where the driver is extracted and Windows will see the .ini file. Select it and you're g2g.
     
    leeshor likes this.
  9. Lawrence Overman

    Lawrence Overman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    o.k. did not seem to work again, said not compatible. I tried the 64bit drivers, should I try the 32bit?
     
  10. megatronium

    megatronium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It's in the Graphics subfolder. You have to select "Let me choose the driver" then "Have disk".
     
    Lawrence Overman likes this.
  11. Lawrence Overman

    Lawrence Overman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes it worked. Thanks so much. I now have the panels. :)
     
  12. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    OK, REALLY solved now. ;);)
    Congratulations.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

intel hd 5000 driver surface pro 3

,
intel hd 5000 surface pro 3
,

intel hd graphics 5000 driver surface pro 3

,
intel hd graphics control panel surface pro 3
,
surface pro 3 hd5000
,
surface pro 3 intel control panel
,

surface pro 3 intel graphics control panel

,
surface pro 3 intel graphics drivers hd 5000
,
surface pro 3 intel hd 5000 drivers
,
surface pro 3 intel hd graphics 5000 driver