Will the power cover require a larger case?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by Darren Donovan, May 7, 2014.

  1. Darren Donovan

    Darren Donovan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a "Snugg" case for my SP2, thinking of getting the power cover. I assume it's thicker, but not sure by how much. Currently, the SP2 + type cover fits snugly :p in the case. Do you think I"ll need to get a different, larger case? BTW, my type cover is blue and for sale if anyone is interested.
    Thanks,
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Imagine putting a Surface 2 and Pro 2 together and that is approximately how thick it will be....and the same weight
     
  3. Darren Donovan

    Darren Donovan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks jnjroach, just curious, do you have a power cover?
     
  4. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That would be thick and heavy...despite what Freud may read into that statement!
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Yes I do, I use it for days when I'm out at Customer's Site....like today
     
  6. Darren Donovan

    Darren Donovan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I assume you carry it without a case?

     
  7. dougpaw57

    dougpaw57 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lancaster, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    When I went from a touch keyboard to a type keyboard, my Incipio case was a tight fit.
     
  8. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Sometimes, I own the Maroo Portfolio Case from the MS Store and it works with the Power Cover, and it fits in my Brenthaven Collins Vertical Messenger Bag without the Portfolio (I can carry my Pro 2 and S2 in the same bag without the Power Cover or Portfolio)
     
  9. Darren Donovan

    Darren Donovan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Why do you need both the Surface 2 and Surface Pro 2?

     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Need is such a strong word ;) In all seriousness, it depends on what I'm doing, very often I use my Surface 2 as my information hub running my Twitter Client and other dashboards and as my Office Phone using Lync 2013 Mobile. I also use it as another screen if I'm reviewing Video for my clients e-learning that we're developing. I've been known to have my Surface 2, Pro 2 and Nokia Lumia 1520 all doing something while working at my customer site. (I'll also use my 1520 as a Lync Client on occasion). Carrying both is still less weight than most Ultrabooks and much more functional.

    My Pro 2 is strictly a work machine, My Surface 2 is my machine....
     
  11. Darren Donovan

    Darren Donovan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just received the Maroo case from Microsoft store. One problem: where do you store the stylus? I didn't know about this before I bought the case, but the bumper prevents the stylus from being to fully seat in the magnetic connector. :(
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    It has a pen loop....
     

Share This Page