Windows * 32-bit OS on Surface

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by randylong, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. randylong

    randylong New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    Has anyone tried loading the 32-bit version of Windows 8 on a Surface pro?
    I have an app that will not run on the 64-bit version.

    Thanks
     
  2. wilbur4321

    wilbur4321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe it's not supported. Surface Pro is UEFI 64-bit only. I believe (but cannot remember for sure) that you can install 32-bit Windows 7 (ick).

    --randy

    Sent from the SurfaceForums.net app for Windows 8
     
  3. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    You shouldnt have to install win8 32 just fore an app. Instead you should just be able to run in compatibility mode.
     
  4. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Can you install Hyper-V on the pro to use VMs? Or any other VM platform for that matter.
     
  5. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Hyper-V is built-in, just enable it from Windows Features.
     
  6. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    8
    Yes I know its built in I just wasn't sure if the CPU was capable. Would be a good way to run 32bit code.
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    32bit code works without issue on x64, what will not run is 16bit code, that is only reason the OP would need to downgrade. Hyper-V would be a better solution...
     
  8. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    I run Hyper-V on mine with these images- 1) Windows Server 2012 AD, 2) Windows Server 2012 + SQL Server 2012, 3) Windows Server 2012 Core + SQL Server 2012 Core, all at the same time. Fine, I do this on an Acer S3 i7 with 256GB SSD and 4GM memory. I'm pretty sure the Surface Pro with i5, 4GG memory and 128GB SSD can do one Hyper-V image of Windows XP or Windows 7 32-bit.
     
  9. Afy

    Afy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    16 bit code? I don't think I have seen any since the early 90's. Wonder what the app is?
     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Unfortunately many businesses and Enterprise Companies invested hundreds of thousands or even millions of dollar into specialty software in the 90's and have been reluctant to replace it or upgrade it, the other dirty secret in the software industry is that installers compiled with InstallShield up until around 2006ish had both a 32bit and 16bit install routine by default, you had to go into the advanced settings and remove the 16bit Installer routine. When I was doing Enterprise Deployments during the Vista era, I was bit (pun intended) by this a couple of times and had to use the Application Compatibility Toolkit to remediate the Installer.
     
  11. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    My last post wasn't very clear. I've had a few problems installing the Hyper-V roll on some Intel CPUs so didn't want to assume the pro could run it.

    And I meant Hyper-V can run any program in it respective supported OS weather 64, 32 or 16 bit.
     
  12. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    not all Intel processors support Hyper-V...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
32 bit surface
,
can surface pro run 32-bit
,
install 32 bit windows 8 on surface pro
,
surface 3 32-bit
,

surface 32 bit

,
surface pro 3 32 bit
,
surface pro 32 bit
,
surface pro 32 bit windows
,
surface pro 32 or 64 bit
,

surface pro 32bit