Can preinstalled Win 8.1 64-bit be swapped for 32-bit version for free?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Pizzaman, Oct 4, 2014.

  1. Pizzaman

    Pizzaman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I will be getting Surface Pro 3 in a week with a 64-bit version of Windows pre-installed. My work software does not support 64-bit versions of Windows therefore I need to install a 32-bit version. I've heard of virtual machines that can run a 32-bit version inside of 64-bit Windows but since I have no experience with VMs, I'd rather do a clean install of 32-bit version of Win 8.1. Is there a way I can do that? Does Surface Pro 3 "license" give me this opportunity?

    Thanks.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum

    I have sold many hundreds of systems with 64-bit Windows and never have run into a problem with any software that had to have 32-bit Windows. TBH that just doesn't sound right.
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    16 bit software?
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Maybe, some ancient graphics software.
     
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Unfortunately there may not be drivers versions in 32 bit so you may run into lot of problems. Like others have said, I never have run into any problems using 32bit software in a 64bit OS.
     
  6. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You can't, but it should be fine - I've never encountered an issue running 32-bit software.

    If your work software can't run on 64-bit Windows, your company needs to upgrade.
     
  7. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    From an earlier thread
    http://www.surfaceforums.net/threads/windows-32-bit-os-on-surface.4954/

    Sir jnjroach does not say it cannot be done but sometimes you must consider the omission consequential.
     
  8. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I was knighted????? Cool....:cool:

    If there is a 32bit Program that won't install on a 64bit system it is most likely caused by InstallShield or Setup.exe that has a 16bit Installer Process, this can be fixed through a MSI repackager or even Visual Studio...
     
    GreyFox7 and leeshor like this.
  9. Pizzaman

    Pizzaman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks everybody.
    This very specific ancient software uses it's own 32-bit drivers as prerequisite and they won't install on a 64-bit system, at least that's what I've been told.

    Is Hyper-V included in SP3 version of Windows? Can I run 32-bit Windows with it and install these 32-bit drivers and software?

    In worst case scenario, can I buy a 32-bit version of Win 8.1 and do a clean install?
    With only 4 GB of RAM I don't see any major downsides to 32-bit Windows anyway.
     
  10. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    In addition you have been awarded the Order of the Surface Pro :D
     
    jnjroach likes this.
  11. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Try right clicking the exe and select troubleshoot compatibility.
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Peripherals that are able to run on Hyper-V tend to be limited to USB Pass-through Devices, is this a Software Title with a Virtual Driver? Or is this an actual piece of legacy hardware?
     

Share This Page