What's new

10% student discounts on preorder

bamaster

Yeah, that's how I ordered mine. Basically paid for the Type cover. Gunna help since I'm also buying MS Complete warranty after it arrives.

While I am a graduate student... a 43 year old one at that... it didn't ask me for my email address.

I did have to get a coupon code when I bought my SP2, though.

kristalsoldier

If you don't have an edu e-mail, call Microsoft.

What do you mean? How does this work? Also, what if I am a member of a higher educational institution but am overseas - can I use my academic email for the same purposes? I can also provide copies of my University ID, if required.

GoodBytes

What do you mean? How does this work? Also, what if I am a member of a higher educational institution but am overseas - can I use my academic email for the same purposes? I can also provide copies of my University ID, if required.

You can call Microsoft to order. You can say that you are student (I am not sure for faculty member.. I am a student in Canada, so no .edu e-mail, we have .ca), get it verified (they have a few ways), and once done, you get 10% off.

kristalsoldier

You can call Microsoft to order. You can say that you are student (I am not sure for faculty member.. I am a student in Canada, so no .edu e-mail, we have .ca), get it verified (they have a few ways), and once done, you get 10% off.

Thanks. I am going to be in Canada next month for 30 days or so working with my counterparts and was planning to buy the SP3 from the MS Store in Toronto. Can I use my UK university email/ ID as proof or is the student discount restricted to Canadian universities?

GoodBytes

The closest Microsoft store is 6h drive in ideal conditions to get to the city where it is. Then I need to get to the store. (Toronto). So I have no idea. But I would assume showing your student ID card should be good.

kristalsoldier